Zach's Best Reads of 2019

In the Dream House: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781644450031
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - November 5th, 2019

I have never read a book quite like In the Dream House: fragmented, yet shatteringly cohesive; experimental, yet utterly confident in its own project. I could barely put this memoir down.


A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250186430
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - March 26th, 2019

Breathtaking in its scope and imagination, A Memory Called Empire is a startlingly unique debut. A can’t-put-down space opera perfect for fans of Leckie and Asimov.


The Monster of Elendhaven Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250225689
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - September 24th, 2019

Reading The Monster of Elendhaven is like stumbling into a fairy tale from hell. This wonderfully twisted and demented story oozes violence, gothic imagery, dark magic, and even darker humor.


Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250313195
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - September 10th, 2019

Lesbian space necromancers, that’s-what-she-said jokes, and massive skeletal monsters: What else could you possibly need in a book? Gideon the Ninth is just plain awesome and fun as all hell.


The Nickel Boys: A Novel Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780385537070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - July 16th, 2019

Few novels have gripped me so tightly or broken my heart so completely as Nickel Boys. I cannot recommend it highly enough.


Growing Things and Other Stories Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062679130
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - July 2nd, 2019

A masterfully unnerving collection of literary horror. Read if you dare (but seriously, you should dare)!


Brute: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555978358
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - April 2nd, 2019

Emily Skaja manipulates language into an earth-shattering force. A simultaneously ferocious and tender collection filled with unexpected yet beautiful imagery.


Oculus: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555978259
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - January 15th, 2019

Reading Oculus is like grasping an electrical current of language. Sally Wen Mao vivisects a past and future of spectacle and racism, teleporting her readers into a world of poetic futurism.


How Long 'til Black Future Month?: Stories Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316491372
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 13th, 2019

After every story in this volume you will hesitate, thinking the next piece cannot possibly be as powerful as the one you just finished, and every time you will be proven wrong. I can only hope that the future of sci-fi and fantasy will look something like the stories encompassed in this amazing book