VIRTUAL: Jamar Perry visits Northside Elementary School

Thursday, Feb. 3, 2022: Jamar Perry is coming (virtually) to Northside!

Important Info for Ordering:

  • Be sure to list your STUDENT'S NAME and TEACHER'S NAME in the order comments section during checkout.
  • We will automatically apply a 10% discount to all books ordered for this event! We will manually apply the discount before we process it.
  • Under shipping options, choose "pick up at store" then pay online, and we'll deliver the books to Northside; there are no shipping charges!
  • All orders must be received by midnight Wednesday, February 2.

Inspired by West African and Igbo mythology, this adventurous middle-grade fantasy debut is perfect for fans of Tristan Strong.

From an exciting debut author comes an action-packed middle grade fantasy for readers who wish they could journey to Wakanda. Cameron Battle grew up reading about Chidani—a fabled West African country that cut itself off from the world to protect the Igbo people from the dangerous slave trade centuries ago. After Cameron’s mother and father disappear, The Book of Chidani is the only thing he has left of them. One night, Cameron's best friends insist on seeing the Book, and they unexpectedly open the barrier between their world and Chidani. The trio is transported to this unknown place, where Cameron learns that as his mother’s heir, he is the Descendant, the only one with the power over the barrier between Chidani and the human world. But Chidani is in danger, and it’s up to Cameron to save it . . .


Jamar J. Perry grew up in Phoenix City, Alabama, an identical twin in a family of eight. When he was eighteen, he moved away, eventually settling in Washington, D.C to be a teacher. When Jamar is writing, he creates outlines, gathers images that connect to his novel, and sits in front of his kitchen window where sunlight can warm him as he works. Jamar loves teaching about literature and writing, and he spends a lot of time training new teachers to meet the reading needs of all students, no matter their background.

Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms is his first novel, and he is so excited to share his writing with kids.

 


 

Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms By Jamar J. Perry Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547606948
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - February 1st, 2022