What to Read Now - Kids Middle Grade Books (Hardcover)

New and notable middle grade books (for readers ages 8-12) in hardcover. Also check out our list of New and Notable Middle Grade Books - Paperback.

Last updated November 17, 2022.

A Rover's Story By Jasmine Warga Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063113923
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 4th, 2022

Perfect for fans of Peter Brown's The Wild Robot! I loved the parallel storytelling of Resilience (a Mars Rover) and Sophie (a scientist's daughter) as Resilience grows into their own sentience and Sophie grows up. --Jamie K.


Stellarlune (Keeper of the Lost Cities #9) By Shannon Messenger Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781534438521
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - November 8th, 2022

Diper Överlöde (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Book 17) By Jeff Kinney Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781419762949
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - October 25th, 2022

Seekers of the Fox (Thieves of Shadow #2) By Kevin Sands Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593327548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - October 18th, 2022

An absolutely ICONIC sequel! I adored the characters, the worldbuilding, the relationships, and the magic!! A guaranteed favorite series for any kid who loves stories about magic, thievery, and the power of friendship among characters facing impossible odds. --Jordan


Rick Riordan Presents The Lords of Night (A Shadow Bruja Novel Book 1) (Storm Runner) By J.C. Cervantes Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368066563
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - October 4th, 2022

Nikhil Out Loud By Maulik Pancholy Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063091924
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 11th, 2022

Hazel Hill Is Gonna Win This One By Maggie Horne Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358664703
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - October 18th, 2022

Glassheart (The Secrets of Eden Eld #3) By Kate Alice Marshall Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593526422
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - November 1st, 2022

The amazing conclusion to my favorite middle grade trilogy. Adventurous, unnerving, and just so so good. I know I will be revisiting the world of Eden Eld many more times in the future. --Jamie K.


Sparrows in the Wind By Gail Carson Levine Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063039070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 25th, 2022

Where the Lost Ones Go By Akemi Dawn Bowman Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374313777
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - October 11th, 2022

Lolo’s Light By Liz Garton Scanlon Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781797212944
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - October 4th, 2022

A Seed in the Sun By Aida Salazar Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593406601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - October 25th, 2022

What the Jaguar Told Her By Alexandra V. Méndez Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781646141753
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - October 11th, 2022

Show Us Who You Are By Elle McNicoll Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593562994
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 25th, 2022

Playing Through the Turnaround By Mylisa Larsen Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358645498
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: Clarion Books - October 11th, 2022

Undercover Latina (The Factory) By Aya de León Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781536223743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - October 11th, 2022

The Lost Whale By Hannah Gold Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063041110
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - October 11th, 2022

Honey and Me By Meira Drazin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338155433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - October 18th, 2022

Sir Callie and the Champions of Helston By Esme Symes-Smith Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593485774
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Labyrinth Road - November 8th, 2022

Warriors: A Starless Clan #2: Sky By Erin Hunter Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063050150
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: HarperCollins - November 1st, 2022

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: The Illustrated Edition (Harry Potter, Book 5) By J. K. Rowling, Mr. Jim Kay (Illustrator), Neil Packer (Illustrator) Cover Image
By J. K. Rowling, Mr. Jim Kay (Illustrator), Neil Packer (Illustrator)
$54.99
ISBN: 9780545791434
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - October 11th, 2022

Unbreakable: The Spies Who Cracked the Nazis' Secret Code By Rebecca E. F. Barone Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250814203
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - October 25th, 2022

Unlawful Orders: A Portrait of Dr. James B. Williams, Tuskegee Airman, Surgeon, and Activist (Scholastic Focus) By Barbara Binns Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781338754261
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Focus - October 18th, 2022

Seen and Unseen: What Dorothea Lange, Toyo Miyatake, and Ansel Adams's Photographs Reveal About the Japanese American Incarceration By Lauren Tamaki (Illustrator), Elizabeth Partridge Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781452165103
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - October 25th, 2022