VIRTUAL: Lillie Vale presents THE SHAADI SET-UP, with Rachel Lynn Solomon

Tuesday, September 21, 2021 - 6:00 pm (click here to register via Crowdcast)
Scroll down to purchase your copy of The Shaadi Set-Up!

In this witty and heartfelt rom-com debut for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Emily Henry, and Tessa Bailey, an Indian American woman signs herself and her boyfriend up for a matchmaking site to prove they’re a perfect match, only to be paired with her ex instead.

High school sweethearts Rita Chitniss and Milan Rao were the golden couple, until the day he broke her heart. Now, six years later, Rita has turned her passion for furniture restoration into a career and has an almost-perfect boyfriend, Neil. The last thing she needs is for Milan to re-enter her life, but that’s exactly what happens when her mother, an unfailing believer in second chances, sets them up. Milan is just as charming, cocky, and confident as he was back in school. Only this time, he actually needs her business expertise, not her heart, to flip a hard-to-sell house for his realty agency. 

While Rita begrudgingly agrees to help, she’s not taking any risks. To prove she’s definitely over him, she signs herself and Neil up on MyShaadi.com, a Desi matchmaking site famous for its success stories and trustworthy enough to convince everyone that she and Neil are the new and improved couple. Instead, she’s shocked when MyShaadi’s perfect match for her isn’t Neil…it’s Milan. Ignoring the website and her mother is one thing, but ignoring Milan proves much more difficult, especially when she promises to help him renovate the beach house of her dreams. And as the two of them dive deeper into work—and their pasts—Rita begins to wonder if maybe her match wasn’t so wrong after all….


Lillie Vale is the author of the young adult novel Small Town Hearts. She writes about secrets and yearning, complicated and ambitious girls who know what they want, the places we call home and people we find our way back to, and the magic we make. Born in Mumbai, she grew up in Mississippi, Texas, and North Dakota, and now lives in an Indiana college town. The Shaadi Set-Up is her debut novel for adults.   

Rachel Lynn Solomon writes, tap dances, and collects lipstick in Seattle, Washington. She is the author of the YA novels You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone, Our Year of Maybe, and Today Tonight Tomorrow. Her debut adult romantic comedy, The Ex Talk published in spring 2021.

Event date: 
Tuesday, September 7, 2021 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
752 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
The Shaadi Set-Up Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593328712
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - September 7th, 2021

The Ex Talk Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593200124
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - January 26th, 2021