Ursula Vernon reads from her book Hamster Princess 6: Little Red Rodent Hood

Saturday 11/24, 2 p.m.


FYI: This event is B.Y.O.H. (bring your own hamster!!!)

For fun, before and after the reading, you're welcome to bring pets hamsters (so long as they can safely stay within their cage or hamster ball!)

 

 

 


Harriet Hamsterbone is not your typical princess–she loves cliff-diving, fighting Ogrecats, and fractions!  Perfect for fans of Babymouse and Dragonbreath, this graphic-hybrid series is brimming with sass, smarts, and Ursula Vernon’s trademark humor.

It’s Little Red Riding Hood as you’ve never seen her before in this funny, feminist spin on the fairy tale, from award-winning author Ursula Vernon. Most monsters know better than to mess with Princess Harriet Hamsterbone. She’s a fearsome warrior, an accomplished jouster, and is so convincing that she once converted a beastly Ogrecat to vegetarianism. So why would a pack of weasel-wolf monsters come to her for help? Well, there’s something downright spooky going on in the forest where they live, and it all centers around a mysterious girl in a red cape. No one knows better than Harriet that little girls aren’t always sweet. Luckily there’s no problem too big or bad for this princess to solve.

In this sixth installment of her whip-smart Hamster Princess series, Ursula Vernon once again upends fairy tale tropes and subverts gender stereotypes to brilliant effect. This is a “Once Upon a Time” like you’ve never seen before.

Event date: 
Saturday, November 24, 2018 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
752 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Hamster Princess: Whiskerella Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780399186554
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - January 23rd, 2018

Hamster Princess: Little Red Rodent Hood Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780399186585
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - September 25th, 2018

Hamster Princess: Giant Trouble Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780399186523
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - May 9th, 2017

Hamster Princess: Ratpunzel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780803739857
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - October 18th, 2016