IN-PERSON: Michael Parker for I AM THE LIGHT OF THIS WORLD

 

Thursday, November 17, 2022 - Signing Line at 5:30 pm, Talk begins at 6:00 pm

Scroll down to order your book, and please indicate in the comments if you’d like 1-2 seats held for you at the event!

Flyleaf will offer seating for up to 50 in-person guests, with priority access given to folks who purchase the book. Masks recommended.


Acclaimed author Michael Parker tells the searing and unforgettable story of one decision that irrevocably changed the course of a young man’s life.

In the early 1970s, in Stovall, Texas, seventeen-year-old Earl—a loner, dreamer, lover of music and words—meets Tina, the new girl in town. Tina convinces Earl to drive her to see her mother in Austin, where Earl and Tina are quickly separated. Two days later, Earl is being questioned by the police about Tina’s disappearance and the blood in the trunk of his car. But Earl can’t remember what happened in Austin, and with little financial support from his working-class family,  he is sentenced for a crime he did not commit.

Forty years later, Earl is released into a  world he can barely navigate.  Settling in a small town on the Oregon coast, he attempts to establish a sense of freedom from both bars and razor wire and the emotional toll of incarceration. But just as Earl finds the rhythm he’s always sought, his past returns to endanger the new life he’s built.

Steeped in the music and atmosphere of the 1970s, I Am the Light of This World is a gritty, gripping, and gorgeously written story of loss, redemption, and the power of the imagination, perfect for fans of Ron Rash, Rachel Kushner, and Laird Hun.


The author of seven novels and three collections of stories, Michael Parker has been awarded four career-achievement awards: the Hobson Award for Arts and Letters, the North Carolina Award for Literature, the R. Hunt Parker Award, and the 2020 Thomas Wolfe Prize. His short fiction and nonfiction have appeared in the Washington Post, the New York Times, Oxford American, Runner’s World, Men's Journal, and others. He is a three-time winner of the O. Henry Prize for his short fiction and his work has appeared in dozens of magazines and several anthologies. He taught for twenty-seven years in the MFA Writing Program at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, and since 2009 he has been on the faculty of the Warren Wilson Program for Writers. He lives in Austin, Texas.

 

Event date: 
Thursday, November 17, 2022 - 5:30pm
Event address: 
752 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
I Am the Light of This World By Michael Parker Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781643751795
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Preorder Now
Published: Algonquin Books - November 15th, 2022

Prairie Fever By Michael Parker Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781643750453
Availability: Usually Available in 5-9 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: Algonquin Books - June 23rd, 2020