OFFSITE EVENT: Allie Millington presents OLIVETTI + a 'type-o-rama' at Chapel Hill Public Library, with Ali Standish

Allie Millington presents OLIVETTI, a type-in at CHPL. Thursday April 25 at 4 pm.

Thursday, April 25, 2024 - An event for kids & adults!

Bring your own typewriter to share with others, or try one provided by the author. Typewriter play starts at 4 pm, and a brief author talk happens @ 4:20 pm with a signing line to follow.

*NOTE: this is an offsite event at Chapel Hill Public Library!

Scroll down to order your book, and please indicate in the comments if you’d like 1-2 seats held for you at the event. We highly recommend reserving your spot with us for this event - no purchase necessary, but there are limited seats available. Books can be picked up ahead of time at Flyleaf Books, or we'll bring them to the library for pick up at the event.


A heartfelt debut middle-grade novel told from the unique vantage points of a witty typewriter and an introverted boy—for fans of Wishtree and A Rover’s Story.

Being a typewriter is not as easy as it looks. Surrounded by books (notorious attention hogs) and recently replaced by a computer, Olivetti has been forgotten by the Brindle family—the humans he’s lived with for years. The Brindles are busy: Dad and Mom work constantly, three of their children put the extra in extra-curriculars, and Ernest, their shy twelve-year-old, goes off alone to read.

When Olivetti learns Mom has mysteriously gone missing, he believes he can help find her. He breaks the only rule of his ‘kind’ and types back to Ernest, who must face what he and his family have been running from, The Everything That Happened. Only by working together will they find the parts of themselves they’ve lost.


Allie Millington first wrote Olivetti on her own antique typewriter, who turned out to have an awful lot to say. She lives near Atlanta, Georgia, with her husband and their fluffy dog. You can find her on Instagram: @alliemillington or online at www.alliemillington.com

Ali Standish is the Jane Addams Book Award Honor-winning author of books for the young and young at heart, including the Carnegie-nominated The Ethan I Was Before, August Isle, Bad Bella, The Climbers, How to Disappear Completely, The Mending Summer, and Yonder. Her books are Junior Library Guild Selections, have received starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly, Kirkus Reviews, Booklist, and School Library Journal, have been named as Indies Next titles, and have been nominated for Goodreads Choice Awards. During her years living in a tumble-down Victorian cottage in the UK, she obtained a master’s degree in Children’s Literature from the University of Cambridge. She now resides in North Carolina with her husband, son, and rescue dog.

Event date: 
Thursday, April 25, 2024 - 4:00pm
Event address: 
Chapel Hill Public Library
100 Library Dr
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Olivetti By Allie Millington Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250326935
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - March 26th, 2024

The Improbable Tales of Baskerville Hall Book 1 By Ali Standish Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063275577
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 12th, 2023

Yonder By Ali Standish Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062985699
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - July 11th, 2023