Malka Older reads from her near-future political thriller State Tectonics

Malka Older reads from her near-future political thriller State Tectonics

Tuesday 9/4, 7 p.m.

 

State Tectonics concludes the trilogy that began with Infomocracy:

• The book The Huffington Post called "one of the greatest literary debuts in recent history"


• Named one of the best books of the year by The Washington Post, The Verge, Flavorwire, Kirkus Reviews, and Book Riot


• A Locus Award Finalist for Best First Novel

 

In Malka Older’s Centenal Cycle, a series of cyberpunk technothrillers beginning with Infomocracy, Information (think Google on steroids) balances the paradoxes of a global micro-democracy. Mishima and Ken face election fraud, man-made and natural disasters, and deadly espionage from powerful rogue governments, while kindling a romance. For fans of The West Wing, Person of Interest and Mr. Robot.

 

The future of democracy must evolve or die.

 

The last time Information held an election, a global network outage, two counts of sabotage by major world governments, and a devastating earthquake almost shook micro-democracy apart. Five years later, it's time to vote again, and the system that has ensured global peace for 25 years is more vulnerable than ever. Unknown enemies are attacking Information's network infrastructure. Spies, former superpowers, and revolutionaries sharpen their knives in the shadows. And Information's best agents question whether the data monopoly they've served all their lives is worth saving, or whether it's time to burn the world down and start anew.

 

THE CENTENAL CYCLE
Book 1: Infomocracy
Book 2: Null States
Book 3: State Tectonics

 

Malka Older is a Campbell Award finalist writer, humanitarian worker, and PhD candidate studying governance and disasters. She has more than eight years of experience in humanitarian aid and development, and has responded to complex emergencies and natural disasters in Uganda, Darfur, Indonesia, Japan, and Mali. Her debut novel was 2016's Infomocracy. Find her on Twitter at @m_older.

 

 

 


Reviews for Infomocracy:

 

“Kinetic and gripping, the plot hurtles toward an electoral climax that leaps off the page.”NPR

 

 

“Futurists and politics geeks will love this unreservedly.” –The New York Times Review of Books

 

“This brilliant book is unquestionably one of the greatest literary debuts in recent history.” –The Huffington Post

 

“A frighteningly relevant exploration of how the flow of information can manipulate public opinion…timely and perhaps timeless.” –Kirkus Starred Review

 

“A fast-paced, post-cyberpunk political thriller… If you always wanted to put West Wing Aaron Sorkin in a particle accelerator with Snow Crash to see what would happen, read this book.” –Max Gladstone, author of Last First Snow

 

Event date: 
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
752 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Infomocracy: Book One of the Centenal Cycle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780765392367
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor.com - August 8th, 2017

Null States: Book Two of the Centenal Cycle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780765399540
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor.com - August 7th, 2018

State Tectonics (The Centenal Cycle #3) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780765399472
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor.com - September 11th, 2018