Oh No, the Aunts Are Here (Hardcover)

Oh No, the Aunts Are Here By Adam Rex, Lian Cho (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Adam Rex, Lian Cho (Illustrator)
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Jun 2 12:22am
(Kids Picture Bks)

Description


Every family has its special aunt: the cool aunt, the wacky aunt, the scary aunt. But this family has ALL THE AUNTS. 
 

Shhh, listen. Do you hear that?
Oh no. Oh dear. Oh . . . my . . . godmother.
 
They've traveled on planes, in taxis, and across state lines. And now they're here at the doorstep, a cheesy gift in one hand, the other poised for a pinch on the cheek.

IT'S THE AUNTS! THE AUNTS ARE HERE.
 
One girl’s all-too-recognizable experience—a visit from a troupe of overwhelming and overly enthusiastic relations—escalates to new heights of chaos, absurdity, and delight in a laugh-out-loud take on family reunions. Written with signature humor by Adam Rex and illustrated by Lian Cho, this picture book is a celebration of the universal and endearing strangeness of family.  

MULTIGENERATIONAL FAMILY SHENANIGANS: The antics of our silliest family members are never not funny. This uniquely hilarious and authentic observation of aunts and uncles sets this book apart from other sweet family-based stories, which tend to take a more sentimental approach.

LAUGH-OUT-LOUD FAMILY FUN: This book provides a truly different kind of lightheartedness and is perfect for those who love Your Baby's First Word Will Be DADA and Goodnight Already. Any family can enjoy and bond over the common experience this book speaks to so humorously.

GREAT READ-ALOUD: This book's irrepressible rhythm and its witty observations make it perfect for family read-alouds or library reading circles.

BELOVED AUTHOR: Adam Rex books are beloved by librarians, booksellers, and readers of all ages. He is the creator of many modern classics, including School's First Day of School, Frankenstein Makes a Sandwich, and The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors.

FUN FOR KIDS: Even for families with normal aunts or no aunts at all, the quirky situations this character faces, and the ways her aunts save the day, will delight any child reader.

Perfect for:
  • Parents, grandparents, aunts, and uncles
  • Librarians and teachers seeking funny picture books to share
  • Anyone looking for humorous illustrated children's books or read-aloud family books
  • Birthday, holiday, or Mother's Day gift for aunts, nieces, nephews, or for the family
  • Fans of Adam Rex, Mo Willems, Drew Daywalt, Mac Barnett, Jory John, and Kevin Henkes

About the Author


Adam Rex is the author and illustrator of many beloved picture books and novels, including the New York Times bestsellers Frankenstein Makes a Sandwich and The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors. He has illustrated the work of many authors, including Jon Scieszka, Mac Barnett, Jeff Kinney, Kate DiCamillo, Eoin Colfer, Christopher Paul Curtis, Paul Feig, and Neil Gaiman. He lives in Tucson, Arizona. 
 
Lian (An-Li) Cho grew up in New Zealand, far away from her eight aunts in Taiwan, where she was born. Now she lives in Brooklyn and is the illustrator of quite a few absurd books for kids, including The Oboe Goes Boom Boom Boom by Colleen AF Venable and It Began with Lemonade by Gideon Sterer. She hopes to one day learn how to quilt, but in the meantime, she enjoys baking copious amounts of banana bread, watching terrible movies, and creating small felt creatures.

Praise For…


”Undeniable charm… A gleefully fun take on the loving chaos of family reunions.” — Kirkus Reviews

“It’s a high-spirited, high-comedy portrait of intrusive, effusive relatives one can count on.” — Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9781797207940
ISBN-10: 1797207946
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: May 23rd, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English