Everyone's Awake: (Read-Aloud Bedtime Book, Goodnight Book for Kids) (Hardcover)

Everyone's Awake: (Read-Aloud Bedtime Book, Goodnight Book for Kids) Cover Image
By Colin Meloy, Shawn Harris (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jul 4 5:30am
(Kids Picture Bks)

Description


A silly and sublime bedtime book from the New York Times bestselling children's book author Colin Meloy.

Giggle your way to sweet and silly dreams! A simple goodnight routine turns marvelously madcap in this cleverly rhymed picture book. Instead of settling down to sleep, Dad bakes bread, Mom fixes the roof, and Grandma plays cards with a ghost. And between the dog, the cat, Sister, and Brother, there's at least three different wars being waged! A modern classic perfect for read-aloud fun and bedtime alike.

• A wildly fun read-aloud book for families
• A laugh-out-loud book perfect for any child who struggles with getting ready for bed
• Written by the lead singer of the Decemberists, the silly and clever rhymes make Everyone's Awake fun for both parent and child.

Fans of Goodnight Already and Dinosaur vs Bedtime will find Everyone's Awake to be a perfect path to a good night's sleep.

• Children's books for kids ages 5-8
• Family read-aloud oboks
• Books for bedtime

Colin Meloy is the lead singer and songwriter of The Decemberists, and the author of several children's books, including the New York Times bestselling Wildwood series. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

Shawn Harris is an artist and musician who lives in California's Mojave Desert. He is the illustrator of several award-winning children's books including Her Right Foot and What Can a Citizen Do?

About the Author


Colin Meloy is the lead singer and songwriter of The Decemberists, and the author of several children's books, including the New York Times bestselling Wildwood series. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

Shawn Harris is an artist and musician who lives in the San Francisco Bay Area. He is the illustrator of several award-winning children's books including Her Right Foot and What Can a Citizen Do?

Praise For…


"An energetic, insomniac romp of an anti-bedtime book. [A] rollicking read-aloud. Don't sleep on this one."—Kirkus Reviews

"[Everyone's Awake is r]ecommended for youngsters (and their grownups) who come from or enjoy observing a family with more quirks than every cast member of a Wes Anderson movie combined."-School Library Journal

 

"[With] rollicking rhymes . . . [and] exuberant page-filling illustrations (think Tomi Ungerer) . . . Meloy and Harris depict one family's anarchical bedtime routine within their lighthouse-esque domicile." -Horn Book Magazine

"[D]azzling. . . each new picture [is] more chaotic and eye-popping than the one before. . . . In every [spread], there's at least one frog to seek and find, a rare touch of calm amid the insomniac rowdiness of this rhyming tale for children ages 5-8"-The Wall Street Journal

"[A]n updated riff on the 1980s favorite 'The Napping House.'. . . The exuberant nighttime household chaos, well conveyed in Harris's witty, sloppy style with thick strokes of saturated blues and blazing orange, will make many a sleep-deprived parent laugh between shouts of 'Settle down!'"-The New York Times




"[A] comic romp. . . . Manic though it may be, the family's live-and-let-live attitude toward its members' rule-breaking peculiarities makes this rip-roaring romp by Meloy defiantly wholesome."—Publisher's Weekly

"Meloy's musical text, always bouncing forward in Seussian rhythms, builds along with the action. It's an exercise in energetic absurdity, a busier, edgier, and more grounded take on Eric Carle's The Nonsense Show, with Harris' primary spot-colored illustrations capturing the intensity and charm. An enticing bedtime alternative."—Booklist

"Pictures are packed with details, including clever allusions to other picture books and chapter books for young readers. . . . [A] crowd-pleasing underwear joke [is] sure to crack up anyone. . . . Recommended for youngsters (and their grownups) who come from or enjoy observing a family with more quirks than every cast member of a Wes Anderson movie combined." -School Library Journal



Product Details
ISBN: 9781452178059
ISBN-10: 1452178054
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2020
Pages: 48