Summer: A Novel (Seasonal Quartet) (Hardcover)

Summer: A Novel (Seasonal Quartet) Cover Image
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now


In the present, Sacha knows the world’s in trouble. Her brother Robert just is trouble. Their mother and father are having trouble. Meanwhile, the world’s in meltdown­—and the real meltdown hasn’t even started yet. In the past, a lovely summer. A different brother and sister know they’re living on borrowed time.

This is a story about people on the brink of change. They’re family, but they think they’re strangers. So: Where does family begin? And what do people who think they’ve got nothing in common have in common?


About the Author

ALI SMITH is the author of many works of fiction, including, most recently, Spring, Winter, Autumn, Public library and other stories, and How to be both, which won the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction, the Goldsmiths Prize, and the Costa Novel of the Year Award. Her work has four times been short-listed for the Man Booker Prize. Born in Inverness, Scotland, she lives in Cambridge, England.

Praise For…

“Ali Smith concludes her seasonal quartet with the triumphant Summer, the long-awaited final installment in a groundbreaking postmodern series . . . Smith reach[es] resonant conclusions on themes carried through . . . Now is the time to read straight through all four installments, which hang together in one grand, epic aria. Smith’s visionary series, ambitious in its scale and towering in its achievements, will be studied and imitated for decades to come.” 

“A deeply resonant finale to a work that should come to be recognized as a classic. . . . A novel that is wonderfully entertaining—for its humor, allusions, deft use of time and memory, sharply realized characters, and delightfully relevant digressions—and a reminder, brought home by the pandemic, that everything and everyone truly is connected and the sufferance of suffering hurts us all.” 
Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 

Product Details
ISBN: 9781101870792
ISBN-10: 1101870796
Publisher: Pantheon
Publication Date: August 25th, 2020
Pages: 400
Series: Seasonal Quartet