The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt (Hardcover)

The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt Cover Image
By Riel Nason, Byron Eggenschwiler (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Oct 25 4:15am
(Kids Picture Bks)

Description


When you're a quilt instead of a sheet, being a ghost is hard! An adorable picture book for fans of Stumpkin and How to Make Friends with a Ghost.

Ghosts are supposed to be sheets, light as air and able to whirl and twirl and float and soar. But the little ghost who is a quilt can't whirl or twirl at all, and when he flies, he gets very hot.

He doesn't know why he's a quilt. His parents are both sheets, and so are all of his friends. (His great-grandmother was a lace curtain, but that doesn't really help cheer him up.) He feels sad and left out when his friends are zooming around and he can't keep up.

But one Halloween, everything changes. The little ghost who was a quilt has an experience that no other ghost could have, an experience that only happens because he's a quilt . . . and he realizes that it's OK to be different.

About the Author


RIEL NASON is a Canadian novelist and textile artist. Her acclaimed debut novel The Town That Drowned won the Commonwealth Book Prize for Canada and Europe, and the Margaret and John Savage First Book Award. Riel's original quilts have been exhibited across Canada; she is best known for her whimsical selvage quilts and bold use of color, and she has published two books on the subject: Modern Selvage Quilting and Sew a Modern Halloween. Riel grew up in Hawkshaw, New Brunswick, and now lives in Quispamsis, NB, with her husband, son, daughter and cats.

BYRON EGGENSCHWILER is an illustrator living in Calgary, Alberta. He is the illustrator of Operatic, by Kyo Maclear, Coyote Tales by Thomas King and Beastly Puzzles by Rachel Poliquin. Byron has also done illustrations for the New York Times, The New Yorker, Wall Street Journal, GQ and others. He shares a home with his wife and two soft cats.

Praise For…


“[A] pleasant, slightly eerie world where the ghosts’ cobwebbed haunted house and a contemporary neighborhood fit comfortably together.” --Publishers Weekly


“[A] sly twist on the transformative power of Halloween.” --Quill & Quire


Product Details
ISBN: 9780735264472
ISBN-10: 0735264473
Publisher: Tundra Books
Publication Date: September 1st, 2020
Pages: 48