Growing Pangs (Paperback)

Growing Pangs Cover Image
By Kathryn Ormsbee, Molly Brooks (Illustrator)
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Jun 24 11:43pm
(Kids Graphic Novels)

Description


Be Different. Be You! Introducing an irresistibly honest, relatable graphic novel about friendship and growing up--just right for fans of Real Friends and Guts!

Katie knows there’s stuff that makes her different. She’s homeschooled, she has freckles, and her teeth are really crooked. But none of these things matter to Kacey. They’re best friends forever—just like their necklaces say. But when they go to summer camp, Kacey starts acting weird. What happened to the “forever”? And when Katie gets home, she can’t stop worrying. About getting braces. About 6th grade. About friends. She knows tapping three times or opening and closing a drawer won’t make everything better . . . but sometimes it helps stop the worrying. Is something wrong with her? And will anyone want to be friends with her if they find out?

About the Author


Kathryn (K.E.) Ormsbee is the author of several Middle Grade and Young Adult novels. She was born and raised in the Bluegrass State and now lives in Salem, Oregon. Visit her online at kathrynormsbee.com and @kathsby.

Molly Brooks is the author and illustrator of the Sanity & Tallulah graphic novel series as well as the illustrator of Flying Machines and many other short comics. She grew up in Tennessee and now lives in Brooklyn. Visit her online at mollybrooks.com and @mollybrooks.

Praise For…


“An incisive and empathetic look at fitting in, anxiety, and what it means to be a good friend.” —Faith Erin Hicks, creator of The Adventures of Superhero Girl

“Kids will be buzzing about Growing Pangs!” —Jennifer L. Holm & Matthew Holm, co-creators of Sunnyside Up and Swing It, Sunny
 
“A poignant and relatable story about making friends, letting go, and opening up” —Terri Libenson, creator of the Emmie & Friends series

★ “The story stays true to this child’s experience, and the art…  gives equal attention to the high points of Katie’s life while skillfully depicting her lows.” —Booklist, starred review

“A poignant account of journeying through life while navigating mental health and friendships.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“A thoughtful, compassionate portrayal of OCD, particularly in its visual representation of Katie’s anxieties.” —The Bulletin


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593301319
ISBN-10: 0593301315
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2022
Pages: 256
Language: English