Nothing Sung and Nothing Spoken (Hardcover)

Nothing Sung and Nothing Spoken By Nita Tyndall Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
20 on hand, as of Nov 26 5:18am
(YA Fiction)

Description


“A heartbreaking and bittersweet novel about the need for queer joy even in the midst of the horrors of war. The ending had me in tears.”—Malinda Lo, New York Times bestselling and National Book Award–winning author of Last Night at the Telegraph Club

For fans of Ruta Sepetys and Malinda Lo, a heart-wrenching queer historical YA romance set in the Swing Youth movement of World War II Berlin

Charlotte Kraus would follow Angelika Haas anywhere. Which is how she finds herself in an underground club one Friday night the summer before World War II, dancing to contraband American jazz and swing music, suddenly feeling that anything might be possible.

Unable to resist the allure of sharing this secret with Geli, Charlie returns to the club again and again, despite the dangers of breaking the Nazi Party’s rules. Soon, terrified by the tightening vise of Hitler’s power, Charlie and the other Swingjugend are drawn to larger and larger acts of rebellion. But the war will test how much they are willing to risk—and to lose.

From the critically acclaimed author of Who I Was with Her, this beautifully told story of hope, love, and resistance will captivate readers of Girl in the Blue Coat and Last Night at the Telegraph Club.

About the Author


Nita Tyndall is a passionate queer advocate and literary translator who writes the kinds of books they needed in high school. They have previously written for outlets like Autostraddle, and were part of the Lambda Literary Writer's Retreat in 2017. This is their first book. They live in North Carolina and can be found online at nitatyndall.com

Praise For…


“A heartbreaking and bittersweet novel about the need for queer joy even in the midst of the horrors of war. The ending had me in tears.”  — Malinda Lo, New York Times bestselling and National Book Award–winning author of Last Night at the Telegraph Club

“Layers and layers of secrecy, the constant terror of being caught, the ecstatic joy of being with other Swing Kids—these elements combine to create an engaging, vivid scene. A compelling story." — Booklist (starred review)

"A powerful story of complicity and resistance in WW2 Germany, and a reminder that we all have a choice to make in the face of oppression. Its jaw-dropping ending will live in your heart long after you finish this book." — Jordyn Taylor, author of The Paper Girl of Paris

“Nothing Sung and Nothing Spoken captured my heart from the very first lines and held me breathless to the end. The feelings between these girls—in friendship and in love—are as intense as the situation in Berlin as World War II rages on around them. Perfect for Code Name Verity fans looking for their next tale of wartime devotion.” — Kip Wilson, author of White Rose

“A captivating story about coming of age during World War II.” — School Library Journal

“An intensely heartfelt tale of high-stakes rebellion that will sweep readers all the way to the novel’s gut-wrenching conclusion." — Publishers Weekly

Praise for Who I Was With Her: "A beautiful, poised, and thought-provoking debut about love, loss, coming out, and discovering living life on your own terms." New York Times bestselling author Kathleen Glasgow

"Rival cross-country high school athletes Corinne and Maggie are lovers but have kept their relationship a secret; when Maggie dies, Corinne is left to grieve alone. The story is told in alternating before/after timelines, so readers experience Corinne’s romance with Maggie as well as the aftermath of her death. Suspense is ramped up well as the plot develops to reveal who else knew about but kept their relationship a secret, why, and at what cost. The focus on bisexuality is welcome." — Kirkus Reviews



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063087446
ISBN-10: 0063087448
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: October 18th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English