The Prince of Nowhere (Hardcover)

The Prince of Nowhere Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times

Description


This sweeping middle grade fantasy debut by Rochelle Hassan follows Roda and Ignis, who embark on an adventure filled with magic and mystery—perfect for fans of Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones.

Roda isn’t afraid of the monsters that roam the wilds of the Aerlands. She’s safe in her small town, which is surrounded by a wall of freezing, enchanted mist that keeps the beasts away. So when Roda rescues an injured crow on the instruction of her secret pen pal, Anonymous—whose letters arrive without warning and correctly predict the future—she’s surprised to learn she’s brought one of the so-called monsters home. Because her crow is really a shape-shifting boy named Ignis.

Ignis doesn’t remember where he was going before he crashed. But Anonymous brought him and Roda together for a reason—and the only way to find out what Anonymous wants is to follow the trail of baffling clues in Roda’s letters. Their perilous journey leads them into the mist and beyond, to a mysterious place called Nowhere. But Ignis has secrets, and the farther they get, the more Roda doubts she can trust him.

As a nefarious force closes in, they’ll have to put aside their differences and work together. For they might be each other’s only defense against an enemy who threatens their past, present, and future.

A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD GOLD STANDARD SELECTION!

About the Author


Rochelle Hassan grew up reading about dragons, quests, and unlikely heroes; now she writes about them, too. The Prince of Nowhere is her first novel. She lives in New York. You can find her online at www.rochellehassan.com.

Praise For…


Hassan’s visually rich and sure-handed prose, strong characters, realistic dialogue, and page-turning plotting offer a compelling adventure with a philosophical heart. A marvelous blend of fantasy and time-travel speculation with a seasoning of steampunk. — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Hassan’s debut title is a wondrous and spellbinding adventure filled with many magical beings and memorable characters. The cinematic world building and pacing will enchant readers, and the multiple twists will leave them on the edge of their seats. — Booklist

Hassan’s debut is a wonderful blend of speculative genres, featuring a rich world and complex characters readers are sure to love. A highly recommended purchase, excellent for fans of Studio Ghibli, Rick Riordan, and ­Madeleine L’Engle alike. — School Library Journal

Hassan grounds complex worldbuilding and characterizations with easily digestible writing and fluid dialogue. This keenly plotted fantasy debut blends a tranquil contemporary world with an epically time-rending adventure. — Publishers Weekly



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063054608
ISBN-10: 0063054604
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English