The Ocean in Your Bathtub (Hardcover)

The Ocean in Your Bathtub Cover Image
By Seth Fishman, Isabel Greenberg (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Nov 29 12:45am
(Kids Science & Nature)

Description


Perfect for curious kids!

From shore to suburb, the ocean connects all of us in unexpected ways—through the weather, our water, our food sources, and more! In their signature informative and child-friendly style, the award-winning creators of A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars explore how the ocean affects everyone, no matter where they live, and how everyone affects the ocean. Fans of Jess Keating's Shark Lady and Kate Messner’s The Brilliant Deep will be hooked. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It’s a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Did you know that oceans cover 71 percent of our planet and contain 97 percent of the Earth’s water? That seven out of every ten breaths you take contains oxygen that comes from oceanic plant life? No matter how far from the ocean you live, it is part of your life, every single day. And you are part of the ocean’s life, too. Every time you flush the toilet or throw something away, you might be sending it to the ocean—and every time you do a good deed, such as pick up litter or recycle, you are helping the ocean!

Acclaimed creators Seth Fishman and Isabel Greenberg explore how the Earth’s five oceans affect daily life for everyone on the planet, presenting surprising information about the ocean ecosystem in a fun, accessible story.

About the Author


Seth Fishman is the author of the picture books A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars, a Boston Globe–Horn Book Award Honor book and Mathical Prize winner, and Power Up. He is a graduate of Princeton University and the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England. He lives in Los Angeles, California. He is also the author of two young adult novels and is a literary agent.



Isabel Greenberg goes through 57 paintbrushes in a year and draws for 6 hours a day with 4 to 5 cups of tea to keep her going. She has written 2 graphic novels and illustrated 5 books for children. She lives in London. www.isabelnecessary.com

Praise For…


“This picture book sparkles with a mix of basic and surprising information about oceans. . . . The illustrations are a perfect match—amusing and informative, with some unexpected details. . . . A fabulous find.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“A wealth of information . . . [The] text covers unexpected ways in which the ocean affects our everyday life . . . [and] how we owe the ocean better treatment."
— ALA Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062953360
ISBN-10: 0062953362
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: May 19th, 2020
Pages: 40
Language: English