30 Books to Read Now

30 ideas to help you answer the question of what to read next .... click here to see a list of our most eagerly anticipated books of the season.

Last updated January 10, 2022.

Better the Blood By Michael Bennett Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802160607
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - January 10th, 2023

A page-turning thriller with a social justice twist- I love it! Hana Westerman is an exciting new character to follow, with an intriguing story to tell us about New Zealand's Indigenous peoples not to mention as a female Detective Inspector in a nearly all-male force. I can't wait to read more. --Jamie F.


Spare By The Duke of Sussex Prince Harry Cover Image
$36.00
ISBN: 9780593593806
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - January 10th, 2023

The January 6th Report: Findings from the Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol By The January 6 Select Committee, Adam Schiff (Foreword by) Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780593597279
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - January 6th, 2023

Age of Vice: A Novel By Deepti Kapoor Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780593328798
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - January 3rd, 2023

You can't stop reading. You can't it down. For as long as it takes to read it, you'll call in sick, you'll cancel engagements, you'll stay up waaaay too late. Absolutely delicious. --Erica


Beaverland: How One Weird Rodent Made America By Leila Philip Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781538755198
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Twelve - December 6th, 2022

Sam: A Novel By Allegra Goodman Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593447819
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: The Dial Press - January 3rd, 2023

You'll keep thinking about Sam long after finishing this touching coming-of-age story. Perfect for fans of Richard Linklater's film 'Boyhood'. --Maggie


Moonrise Over New Jessup By Jamila Minnicks Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781643752464
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - January 10th, 2023

Click here for more information about our upcoming event with Jamila Minnicks and Jason Mott on Thursday, January 26.


Everybody Knows: A Novel of Suspense By Jordan Harper Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316457910
Availability: Backordered
Published: Mulholland Books - January 10th, 2023

A fun thriller dealing with dark Hollywood secrets. The investigators wrestle with their own shortcomings as they try to salvage a young girl's life. --Jamie F.


The Good Life: Lessons from the World's Longest Scientific Study of Happiness By Robert Waldinger, M.D., Marc Schulz, Ph.D Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781982166694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - January 10th, 2023

The House in the Pines: A Novel By Ana Reyes Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593186718
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton - January 3rd, 2023

Reese's Book Club January selection


Awe: The New Science of Everyday Wonder and How It Can Transform Your Life By Dacher Keltner Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781984879684
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - January 3rd, 2023

A Long Time to Be Gone (Carnegie Mellon University Press Poetry Series ) By Michael McFee Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780887486869
Availability: Backordered
Published: Carnegie Mellon University Press - December 20th, 2022

Click here for more information about our event with Michael McFee on Tuesday, January 24.


How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning with the History of Slavery Across America By Clint Smith Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316492928
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - December 27th, 2022

Now in paperback!


Unloose My Heart: A Personal Reckoning with the Twisted Roots of My Southern Family Tree By Marcia Edwina Herman-Giddens Cover Image
$34.95
ISBN: 9780817321451
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: University Alabama Press - January 17th, 2023

Click here for more information about our upcoming event with Marcia E. Herman-Giddens on Tuesday, January 31.


Hell Bent: A Novel (Alex Stern #2) By Leigh Bardugo Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250313102
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - January 10th, 2023

Welcome back to the hidden darkness of Yale's campus, and the magic that soaks its architecture and history. Though society leaders have declared Darlington dead and gone, Alex and Dawes know better - and they will go to any end to save him. Hell Bent is magical, resplendent with fierce characters, a devious and twisting plot, and at its core a deep interrogation of the cost of power and the lengths at which the privileged will go to maintain it. --Jordan


Fieldwork: A Forager's Memoir By Iliana Regan Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781572843189
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Agate Midway - January 24th, 2023

Astrid Parker Doesn't Fail By Ashley Herring Blake Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593336427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - November 22nd, 2022

Ashley Herring Blake is back with another romance serving up my top two interests: queer drama and interior design. Providing characters with just enough complexity to keep us interested in more than just the smut, this story touches on anxiety, shame, and identity, wrapped in a cozy love story. Easy to escape into and read in a day. --R.C.


“You Just Need to Lose Weight”: And 19 Other Myths About Fat People (Myths Made in America) By Aubrey Gordon Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780807006474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beacon Press - January 10th, 2023

Brotherless Night: A Novel By V. V. Ganeshananthan Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780812997156
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - January 3rd, 2023

Bad Cree: A Novel By Jessica Johns Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780385548694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - January 10th, 2023

Ghost Music By An Yu Cover Image
By An Yu
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802159625
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - January 10th, 2023

Stella Maris By Cormac McCarthy Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780307269003
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - December 6th, 2022

How High We Go in the Dark: A Novel By Sequoia Nagamatsu Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063072657
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 10th, 2023

Now in paperback!


The Deluge By Stephen Markley Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9781982123093
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - January 10th, 2023

In the Upper Country: A Novel By Kai Thomas Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593489505
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: Viking - January 10th, 2023

Good for a Girl: A Woman Running in a Man's World By Lauren Fleshman Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593296783
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - January 10th, 2023

The Riders Come Out at Night: Brutality, Corruption, and Cover-up in Oakland By Ali Winston, Darwin BondGraham Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781982168599
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: Atria Books - January 10th, 2023

The Night Travelers: A Novel By Armando Lucas Correa Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781501187988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - January 10th, 2023

The Maid: A Novel By Nita Prose Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593356173
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - January 3rd, 2023

City Under One Roof By Iris Yamashita Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593336670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - January 10th, 2023