30 Books to Read Now

30 ideas to help you answer the question of what to read next .... click here to see a list of our most eagerly anticipated books of the season.

Last updated June 15.

Wilmington's Lie (Winner of the 2021 Pulitzer Prize): The Murderous Coup of 1898 and the Rise of White Supremacy Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780802148650
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - January 19th, 2021

Winner of the 2021 Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction!


The Night Watchman: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780062671196
Availability: Backordered
Published: Harper Perennial - March 23rd, 2021

Winner of the 2021 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction!


Malibu Rising: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781524798659
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - June 1st, 2021

The Riva family is one of the most recognizable--and perhaps least understood--in 1980s Malibu. Over the course of one summer night, and one raucous party, their world literally goes up in flames. Delve into their family history, their loves & losses, and all of their tremendously compelling drama as the evening unfolds. Malibu Rising is about as close as you can get to a perfect summer read.  --Talia


A Quantum Life: My Unlikely Journey from the Street to the Stars Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781984819093
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - June 15th, 2021

Reclaiming Rest: The Promise of Sabbath, Solitude, and Stillness in a Restless World Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781506465999
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadleaf Books - June 22nd, 2021

Register here for our virtual event with Kate Rademacher on Thursday, July 1, at 6:00 PM.


Fates and Furies: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781594634482
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - September 13th, 2016

And get your preorder in for Lauren Groff's forthcoming book Matrix! (Publishes September 7.)


The Thousand Crimes of Ming Tsu Cover Image
By Tom Lin
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316542159
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - June 1st, 2021

A raucous romp through a nearly lawless post-Civil War American West. Ming Tsu’s story is captivating and impossible to put down; the cast of characters are just too odd to forget or dismiss. A blood-crusted gem of a tale. --Jamie


Cleanness Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250785664
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - January 12th, 2021

Like Greenwell's first novel ('What Belongs to You -- I highly recommend it), 'Cleanness' fells grey, like it's doused in smoke or covered in thick clay. The harsh, soviet-style industrialism of the novel's stage -- Sofia, Bulgaria -- only serves to highlight Greenwell's exquisitely emotional writing, his ability to find the intricate, bottomless feelings that saturate our lives and relationships (though usually we're not paying attention). For Greenwell, every thought is held captive, every touch has meaning -- there is nowhere, no dark corner of thought, his prose does not illuminate and sanctify. 'Cleanness' is heartwarmingly and heartwrenchingly queer, gesturing towards an ache I recognize in myself so frequently. I am seen, once again -- what a gift this book is. --Ryan


Hamnet Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781984898876
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - May 18th, 2021

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction!


Invisible Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982137342
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - June 1st, 2021

Jewell at her best! I love her flawed characters and twists. This page-turner features a missing girl with a history of trauma telling her own story, a creepy neighbor who isn't what he seems (or maybe he is) and other fully-realized characters living on a posh street in London, which isn't very safe after all... --Maggie


Trust Exercise: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250231260
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holt Paperbacks - May 5th, 2020

Trust Exercise was my first Susan Choi but now I can't wait to read her backlist. This book takes an unexpected turn about 130-pages in and really threw me for a loop - honestly, the less you know going in the better. The language is beautiful and flowing and well-suited to the material. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the deep dive into the minds of its characters. --Colin


Mexican Gothic Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525620808
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey Books - June 15th, 2021

A wonderfully atmospheric reimagining of gothic horror. Packed with subverted horror tropes and deeply unsettling dream sequences, Mexican Gothic follows one of my new favorite protagonists as she struggles to make sense of the mysteries and madness surrounding her newlywed cousin. A great (and unnerving) new twist on the classic haunted house tale, Perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House, T. Kingfisher’s The Twisted Ones, and Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s The Yellow Wallpaper. -- Zach


The Dragons, the Giant, the Women: A Memoir Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450567
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - June 15th, 2021

In this family history, Wayétu Moore, author of the oh-so-good novel She Would Be King recounts the journey that led her mother from Liberia to the US and back again. An incredibly moving testament to the power of family, love and storytelling. --Elese


All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781501173219
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - April 4th, 2017

And get your preorder in for Anthony Doerr's forthcoming book Cloud Cuckoo Land! (Publishes September 28.)


The Biggest Bluff: How I Learned to Pay Attention, Master Myself, and Win Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525522645
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 8th, 2021

Luster: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250798671
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - June 8th, 2021

Owls of the Eastern Ice: A Quest to Find and Save the World's Largest Owl Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250798718
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - June 1st, 2021

The Sweetness of Water: A Novel Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316362894
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - June 15th, 2021

Oprah's latest book club selection -- Georgia in the days immediately following the Emancipation Proclamation, Harris’ characters display the best and the worst responses to the new order. Brutal yet hopeful, this one’s a slow burn until you realize you’re so caught up in the story you can’t possibly stop reading. --Jamie


Ghost in a Black Girl's Throat Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781597098854
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Red Hen Press - April 13th, 2021

We have signed copies!


On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525562047
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 1st, 2021

Little Dog writes a letter to his mother, a letter he knows she will never read. But he has so much to say. Both Little Dog and his mother are outsiders: she, an immigrant, a survivor of the Vietnam war; he, a queer artist, a survivor of the opioid crisis. They are bound together by blood, which is to say, by violence, by trauma--but also by history, by family. In searing, looping prose, Ocean Vuong chips away calcified layers of socialization, culture, and language, exposing the raw, instinctual love and sexuality at the crux of human connection. --Talia


A Private Cathedral: A Dave Robicheaux Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982151690
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 22nd, 2021

Sad Janet: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593086537
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - June 15th, 2021

Morningside Heights: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781524748357
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - June 15th, 2021

Morningside Heights is the perfect example of a quiet novel done right. Joshua Henkin expertly details the relationships, grief, and lives of one family with just enough detail and emotion to hit you right in the heart. Henkin gets to the heart of each of his characters: flawed, sometimes horrifying, deeply empathetic, and lovable--reminiscent of ourselves and our loved ones. Hopeful, heart wrenching, and tender - it is sure to stay in your heart and head long after its final pages. --Genni


The Maidens Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250304452
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Celadon Books - June 15th, 2021

On Juneteenth Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781631498831
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Liveright - May 4th, 2021

Register here for our virtual event with Annette Gordon-Reed and William Sturkey on Friday, June 18, at 7:30PM.


One Last Stop Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250244499
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - June 1st, 2021

People We Meet on Vacation Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984806758
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - May 11th, 2021

In a day and age where we can't travel on a whim, People We Meet on Vacation is a perfect escape. This slow burn romance between Poppy and Alex is the perfect blend of humor and emotion. Now estranged best friends, Poppy and Alex take one last summer vacation together, seeing if they can reignite their deep friendship. Of course, their true feelings come to a head. The frequent flashbacks, in which readers see all the couple's almost happily ever afters, are sublime. My heart hurt reading this one, in the best way possible. Much like Emily Henry's Beach Read, People We Meet on Vacation is a quintessential summer read. -Genni


The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781683692515
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quirk Books - May 25th, 2021

Grady Hendrix makes horror charming. His style of writing - unrelenting humanity in the face of real terror, of both the supernatural and everyday varieties - is in top form here. He's one of a handful of authors whose new work I devour as soon as I get my hands on it. Grady Hendrix knows how to terrify you, but more importantly, he knows how to make you feel that maybe we can overcome the thing that scares us the most. --Colin


Braiding Sweetgrass Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781571313560
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 1st, 2014

Chronicling Stankonia: The Rise of the Hip-Hop South Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781469661964
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of North Carolina Press - February 22nd, 2021

Caste (Oprah's Book Club): The Origins of Our Discontents Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780593230251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - August 4th, 2020