Flyleaf's Favorite Mysteries & Thrillers of 2022

The Violin Conspiracy: A Novel By Brendan Slocumb Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593315422
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Preorder Now
Published: Vintage - December 6th, 2022

Totally gripping from page one, this mystery ticks all the boxes: a heroic main character who rises above countless obstacles to achieve greatness, a stolen family heirloom, racial reckoning and historical truths brought to light—and an elite international music competition! --Maggie


Pay Dirt Road: A Novel (Annie McIntyre Mysteries #1) By Samantha Jayne Allen Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250804273
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - April 19th, 2022

A solid debut featuring a young woman trying to escape her rural Texas hometown and being pulled into her family's detective business...but of course she fails at both! I look forward to reading more of this gritty, refreshing new series. --Jamie


Notes on an Execution: A Novel By Danya Kukafka Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063052734
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - January 25th, 2022

Notes on an Execution unravels the serial killer narrative, weaving the story of the final twelve hours before Ansel Packer's execution with the stories of the women in his life: his mother, his ex-sister-in-law, and the detective who arrested him. I couldn't put it down—both because of its thrilling plot and because of its probing, non-judgmental interrogation of our cultural obsession with true crime. --Elisa


Portrait of a Thief: A Novel By Grace D. Li Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593184738
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tiny Reparations Books - April 5th, 2022

Applying a revolutionary premise to the classic heist story, a group of Chinese American students band together to ‘illegally’ repatriate artifacts that never truly belonged to the museums that held them. Enthralling and unputdownable!!! --Jordan


The Maid: A Novel By Nita Prose Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593356159
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - January 4th, 2022

A charming, cozy mystery with a terrific heroine who struggles to keep the world as neat & tidy as she prefers...especially after she discovers a VIP hotel guest 'dead in his bed.' Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine. --Maggie


The Enigma of Room 622: A Novel By Joël Dicker, Robert Bononno (Translated by) Cover Image
By Joël Dicker, Robert Bononno (Translated by)
$29.99
ISBN: 9780063098817
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperVia - September 13th, 2022

With its seemingly never-ending twists and unexpected ending, this incredibly suspenseful work of metafiction is not only a downright marvelous mystery, but also a tale of forbidden love, the struggle for power, and ultimately, what it means to live a happy life. Well-developed characters, a meticulously crafted plot, and delightfully entertaining details make this mystery a must-read—one like no other you've ever read before! --Jennie


Other People's Clothes: A Novel By Calla Henkel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385547352
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - February 1st, 2022

Two American college students, both artists, studying abroad in Berlin in the late aughts. Think complicated female friendships, clubs, drugs, lavish parties, Amanda Knox references, and plenty of twists that will keep you guessing. SO MUCH FUN. --Elese


City on Fire: A Novel By Don Winslow Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062851192
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - April 26th, 2022

I devoured this novel, couldn't put it down. Sure, it's a mob story, but the characters and setting are slightly different—it's Rhode Island, but of course Boston and NY are hovering in the background. Winslow creates such believable, heartbreakingly likeable characters that I couldn't help but be on the edge of my seat as they sorted out turf wars and otherwise navigated simply staying alive. I can't wait for the rest of this series! --Jamie


Reckless Girls: A Novel By Rachel Hawkins Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250791573
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - November 22nd, 2022

Sexy and spooky, this terrific thriller made me glad I'm not a gorgeous 20-something sailing the Pacific and frolicking on a deserted island with a sketchy cast of characters...but I sure loved being a voyeur on the journey! --Maggie


Nine Lives: A Novel By Peter Swanson Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062980076
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - March 15th, 2022

One of my favorite contemporary suspense authors, Peter Swanson, has done it again! Another captivating mystery that will keep you up way past your bedtime. Read it NOW! --Jennie