Flyleaf's Favorite Picture Books 2022

Grab Your Pillow, Armadillo: A Silly Book of Fun Goodnights By Haily Meyers, Kevin Meyers Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781423661245
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: Gibbs Smith - May 10th, 2022

An adorable picture book to help get your little one ready for bed! Full of cute rhymes and fun flaps that lift to reveal who's snuggling whom. Grab Your Pillow, Armadillo is the perfect way to end your busy day! --Colin


The Surprise By Zadie Smith, Nick Laird, Magenta Fox (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Zadie Smith, Nick Laird, Magenta Fox (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593525975
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - June 28th, 2022

Absurd and adorable in all of the best ways a picture book can be. --Elese


Feathers Together (Feeling Friends) By Caron Levis, Charles Santoso (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Caron Levis, Charles Santoso (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419754586
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - October 4th, 2022

Feathers Together tells the true story of a pair of bonded white storks and the "kind featherheaded man" who helps in a time of crisis. (Flip a few pages in to see the illustration of the ramp built for the injured Malena - just perfection.) Another sweet and emotional animal story from this illustrator/author powerhouse. --Elese


My Self, Your Self By Esmé Shapiro Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781774880234
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tundra Books - September 27th, 2022

"This is my tummy. These are my boots." The cutest, most affirming book about being at home in one's body & and at peace with one's self. --Elese


Two Dogs By Ian Falconer, Ian Falconer (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ian Falconer, Ian Falconer (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062954473
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Michael di Capua Books - June 28th, 2022

The hilarious tale of two dachshund brothers: Augie worries, Perry instigates. They squabble, they play, they cause minor mayhem, and they look pretty darn cute while they're doing it all. --Elese


Mardi Gras Almost Didn't Come This Year By Kathy Z. Price, Carl Joe Williams (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kathy Z. Price, Carl Joe Williams (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534444256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - February 22nd, 2022

My favorite children's book this year. With reverent poetry and a dialect reflective of New Orleans and the Bayou, this book will drown you in the atmosphere of the town and the eerie worry that Mardi Gras won't be coming around as usual. Kathy Price will make you want to get out with family and explore the town you grew up in and find yourself loving more and more. --Aaron


Mushroom Lullaby By Kenneth Kraegel, Kenneth Kraegel (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kenneth Kraegel, Kenneth Kraegel (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536219418
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - October 11th, 2022

A sweet and calming bedtime story full of garden creatures and homey mushrooms. --Elese


Mina By Matthew Forsythe, Matthew Forsythe (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481480413
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - February 15th, 2022

Mina's father is always bringing home surprises, whether it's tin cans (to make his jokes louder) or a bunch of stick bugs (to teach them to read). It's only when he brings home a few squirrels (cats, actually) that Mina thinks he's gone too far. See who does and doesn't get eaten and learn the value of reading in this book fit for fans of Mac Barnett or Adam Rubin. --Palmer


Farmhouse By Sophie Blackall Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316528948
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 13th, 2022

In this beautiful and heartwarming story, Blackall imagines the life of a family living in a 19th century farmhouse. The gently rhyming prose and detailed, nostalgia-laden illustrations make for a delightful read for old and young readers alike. Blackall has crafted yet another stunning picture book with Farmhouse. --Jennie


A Spoonful of Frogs: A Halloween Book for Kids By Casey Lyall, Vera Brosgol (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Casey Lyall, Vera Brosgol (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062890290
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - July 19th, 2022

One determined witch, several unflappable frogs, and a jar of emergency pickles—who knew this was the recipe for pure picture book brilliance? --Elese


I'm a Unicorn By Helen Yoon, Helen Yoon (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Helen Yoon, Helen Yoon (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536219760
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 20th, 2022

Oh my goodness! Is this a delightful, adorable, hilarious picture book about imposter syndrome?! I laughed so hard that rainbows came out my, um, nose! --Tony


Black Boy, Black Boy By Ali Kamanda, Jorge Redmond, Ken Daley (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ali Kamanda, Jorge Redmond, Ken Daley (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781728250649
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Explore - August 9th, 2022

Using some of my heroes growing up and heroes that I didn't yet know about, Black Boy, Black Boy is a reminder for all young children of color that they can do anything they want to, despite the odds against their favor, because who can say no to a dream? --Aaron


The Lives of Lemurs (Curious Creatures) By Andrea Antinori Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781735311548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tra Publishing - October 25th, 2022

Lemurs are such weird, fun creatures! In this book you'll find out how these funny little animals made their way across the ocean and into people's hearts (note: some scenarios may be exaggerated). --Jamie K.


Jo Bright and the Seven Bots By Meg Hunt (By (artist)), Deborah Underwood Cover Image
By Meg Hunt (By (artist)), Deborah Underwood
$17.99
ISBN: 9781452171302
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - September 20th, 2022

If you're like me and love fairy tale retellings, you will adore this book! Beautiful illustrations, clever rhyming, and a well-known story with plenty of twists that will keep you guessing til the end. --Jamie K.