Flyleaf's Favorite Middle Grade Fiction (Ages 8-12) 2022

A Rover's Story By Jasmine Warga Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063113923
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 4th, 2022

Perfect for fans of Peter Brown's The Wild Robot! I loved the parallel storytelling of Resilience (a Mars Rover) and Sophie (a scientist's daughter) as Resilience grows into their own sentience and Sophie grows up. --Jamie K.


Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor By Xiran Jay Zhao Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781665900706
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - May 10th, 2022

A fast-paced, riveting adventure, full of video-game action, demons, and Chinese history. Great fun! --Maggie


Odder By Katherine Applegate, Charles Santoso (Illustrator) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250147424
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 20th, 2022

An otter (Odder!) adventure written in verse & accompanied by adorable drawings. What's not to love about Katherine Applegate? --Elese


Seekers of the Fox (Thieves of Shadow #2) By Kevin Sands Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593327548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - October 18th, 2022

An absolutely ICONIC sequel! I adored the characters, the world-building, the relationships, and the magic!! A guaranteed favorite series for any kid who loves stories about magic, thievery, and the power of friendship among characters facing impossible odds. (Catch up with the first book in the Thieves of Shadow series, Children of the Fox!) --Jordan


The Last Mapmaker By Christina Soontornvat Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536204957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - April 12th, 2022

Another magical adventure story from the incredible & Newbery-winning Christina Soontornvat. Young mapmaker Sai must overcome all variety of obstacles in her quest to chart the unknown waters of the Sunderlands. "Here be dragons" .... A fantastic read-aloud with my 10-year-old. --Elese


Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms By Jamar J. Perry Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781547611317
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Preorder Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - November 29th, 2022

A riveting middle grade fantasy in which three friends are magically transported to kingdom in need of heroes. For fans of Tristan Strong and Aru Shah and featuring West African and Igbo history and mythology. --Maggie


A Duet for Home By Karina Yan Glaser Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544876408
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - April 5th, 2022

This thoughtful & fast-paced book will open children's eyes to the plight of homeless families. It also highlights the almost-mystical appeal of learning to play a musical instrument. Overall, it's a well-crafted celebration of friendship and how kindness & determination can enact real change. --Maggie


Rain Rising By Courtne Comrie Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063159730
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: HarperCollins - September 27th, 2022

Rain's internal monologue is exactly what it feels like to have anxiety or depression. Her reality is one that is reflected in so many of the people in our lives that we may never notice. This book made me cry so many times, but I will for sure be rereading it soon. (Trigger warnings for: anxiety, depression, self harm, and hate crimes.) --Jamie K.


Glassheart (The Secrets of Eden Eld #3) By Kate Alice Marshall Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593526422
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - November 1st, 2022

The amazing conclusion to my favorite middle grade trilogy. Adventurous, unnerving, and just so so good. I know I will be revisiting the world of Eden Eld many more times in the future. --Jamie K.


Witchlings By Claribel A. Ortega Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338745528
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: Scholastic Press - April 5th, 2022

This is sure to be a hit! Both my son & I loved it and couldn't put it down. A creative, fully-realized alterna-world of young witches finding their strengths in the vein of Harry Potter, with a twisty plot that keeps galloping along. Seriously can't wait for the next one! --Maggie