Flyleaf's Favorite Graphic Novels for Kids (Ages 8-12) 2022

Lemon Bird: Can Help! By Paulina Ganucheau Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593122679
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - August 23rd, 2022

Lemon Bird and her best friend Pupkin are endlessly adorable. These two fruit friends—or maybe fruit and vegetable?—will charm you and brighten your day with their need to be the most helpful they can be, even when they are lost in the woods! --Kat


Frizzy By Claribel A. Ortega, Rose Bousamra (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Claribel A. Ortega, Rose Bousamra (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250259639
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - October 18th, 2022

This book is for every child who has felt like their hair wasn't "appropriate" or "pretty." With some help from her Tía Ruby, Marlene learns how to love herself, just the way she is. --Jamie K.


Bunnicula: The Graphic Novel (Bunnicula and Friends) By James Howe, Andrew Donkin, Stephen Gilpin (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534421622
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - August 30th, 2022

The classic tale of Bunnicula has come back to life, and this time it's graphic! This is the story of a seemingly innocent bunny who has a penchant for drinking the juice out of carrots. The illustrations only make this creepy tale an even better choice for a bedtime read with a flashlight under the covers. --Kat


Other Ever Afters: New Queer Fairy Tales By Melanie Gillman Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593303184
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - September 20th, 2022

If you've ever felt like there isn’t a “Happily Ever After” fairy tale out there for you, you should pick up Melanie Gillman’s collection. Each story is beautifully illustrated in colored pencils. Perfect for a budding feminist activist or anyone who is a part of or loves someone in the LGBT community. --Kat


Adventuregame Comics: Leviathan (Book 1) By Jason Shiga Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781419757792
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: Amulet Books - September 13th, 2022

Jason Shiga knows how to draw you into his creative choose-your-own-adventure stories. Your very first choice is easy; what drink can the innkeeper get for you? But even the smallest of choices can either keep you safe and sound or stuck at the bottom of the ocean. Shiga’s previous books provided hours of entertainment for me and my cousins, and Leviathan would make a similarly great gift for your favorite creative storyteller this holiday season. --Kat


The Tryout: A Graphic Novel By Christina Soontornvat, Joanna Cacao (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338741261
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: Graphix - September 6th, 2022

Christina Soontornvat's graphic memoir depicts the challenges & joys of middle school life as a Thai American in Texas, centering around her dream of making the school's cheer squad. For fans of Victoria Jamieson's Roller Girl, Jerry Craft's New Kid, or any of Raina Telgemeier's many graphic novels. Great for grades 4-8. --Elese


My Aunt Is a Monster: (A Graphic Novel) By Reimena Yee Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984894182
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - October 25th, 2022

Mamo By Sas Milledge Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781684158171
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days, supply chain issues may affect these times
Published: BOOM! Box - April 19th, 2022

This graphic novel combines Milledge’s gorgeous art style with a story that shocks and delights. Though it may be classified as “for kids," it can be enjoyed by those of any age. -Jame K.


Swim Team By Johnnie Christmas, Johnnie Christmas (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780063056763
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperAlley - May 17th, 2022

A sweet novel of friendship, overcoming fear, learning to be a teammate, and a whole lot of swimming. Great for grades 3-6. --Elese


Freestyle: A Graphic Novel By Gale Galligan Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338045802
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - October 18th, 2022

With growing tensions on his dance team and struggling with his grades, Cory isn’t doing his best. But after seeing a girl named Suna yo-yoing, his creative passion is reignited! As he struggles to balance his new friendship with Suna, his old friendships with his dance team, his grades, and his new yo-yo skills, Cory is in for a very chaotic eighth-grade year! --Jamie K.