Flyleaf's Favorite Young Adult Books 2021

Firekeeper's Daughter Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 16th, 2021

Firekeeper's Daughter is an absolutely gorgeous and complex read, with an ending that is both tragically beautiful and entirely fitting. Boulley's writing is authentic and she manages to accurately portray each character's perspective, from police to tribal members to criminals. Her social commentary, knowledge, and incisive wit combine to create a truly unique novel that no one else could have written half as well. --Wade B., Flyleaf Youth Advisory Board


The Project: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250105738
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - February 2nd, 2021

The Project is the story of Lo Denham, a girl who goes looking for her older sister, recently indoctrinated by what she believes to be a sinister cult with dark intentions. But when Lo finally gets there and sees how things run, she’s left with more questions than answers. This is a YA book with plenty of bite for older readers, one of my favorites of the year. --Colin


Instructions for Dancing Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781524718961
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - June 1st, 2021

17-year-old Evie can suddenly see the future; specifically, she can look at a couple and instantly know how their relationship will eventually end. Knowing that each relationship has an end, what's the point of beginning one? Chock-full of ballroom dancing and ruminations on the meaning of love, this is a smart contemporary romance that will keep the pages turning. --Elese


Victories Greater Than Death (Unstoppable #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250317315
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Teen - April 13th, 2021

Victories Greater Than Death  has it all: relatable characters, an engaging plot, and genuinely touching moments ... all set against the backdrop of an intergalactic war. It's a novel take on the sci-fi tradition of space battles, with a cliffhanger ending that will make you desperate for the sequel. --Wade B., Flyleaf Youth Advisory Board


Ace of Spades Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250800817
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - June 1st, 2021

After two private school students are selected to be prefects, an anonymous bully starts sending text messages with revealing secrets about them to the rest of the student body. In this debut novel, suspense is expertly combined with interesting social commentary--perfect for fans of Courtney Summers, Maureen Johnson, or Karen McManus! --Jennie


Aristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534496194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 12th, 2021

I honestly might like this book better than the first -- Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe -- which I loved! --Grace V., Flyleaf Youth Advisory Board


All of Us Villains Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250789259
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Teen - November 9th, 2021

Every twenty years, seven families send one of their children to fight to the death in a magical arena in order to secure sole control over a pool of the rarest form of magick, high magick. If you’ve ever wanted The Hunger Games or Battle Royale to include more villainy and magic, then this book is definitely for you. --Jordan


A Pho Love Story Cover Image
By Loan Le
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534441934
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - February 9th, 2021

A heartwarming romance between two Vietnamese teens whose parents run rival restaurants in town. If you like rivals-to-lovers, familial conflict, awesome friends, or pho, this book is for you! --Ella T., Flyleaf Youth Advisory Board Member


Blackout: A Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063088092
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Quill Tree Books - June 22nd, 2021

If you're only going to read one Young Adult book this year, make sure it's Blackout! Blackout is a star-studded anthology written by some of the best voices in the genre. Jump in and have fun with these stories, all of which are set during a NYC blackout and celebrate young Black love. Joyful, contemplative, and heartwarming. --Genni


The Passing Playbook Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984815408
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - June 1st, 2021