Flyleaf's Favorite Sci-Fi, Fantasy & Horror 2021

The Last House on Needless Street Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250812629
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Nightfire - September 28th, 2021

This is THE must-read horror/thriller novel of 2021. After a young girl goes missing during a family beach trip, her older sister goes on a hunt for the man she suspects is the kidnapper. Full of twists and turns and truly terrifying imagery, The Last House on Needless Street will keep you guessing until the last page. --Colin


The Actual Star: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063002890
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - September 14th, 2021

A breathtaking speculative novel split into three stories taking place thousands of years apart: the past, the present, the future. Byrne has created a narrative world of riches that tackles so many ideas about our society as well as the nature of perception and existence itself. --Tony


Terminal Boredom: Stories Cover Image
By Izumi Suzuki, Polly Barton (Translated by), Sam Bett (Translated by), David Boyd (Translated by), Daniel Joseph (Translated by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781788739887
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Verso Fiction - April 20th, 2021

A wonderfully unsettling, engrossing collection of anxiety-ridden punk sci-fi. Perfect for fans of Black Mirror, its darkly radiant, absurdist prose will captivate readers from the first story till the last. --Zach


Reprieve: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063079915
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - October 5th, 2021

With the character development of literary fiction, the suspense of a thriller, and the bloodcurdling terror of horror, Reprieve is a truly innovative novel--a heartbreaking and terrifying social commentary on contemporary America. --Jennie


Black Water Sister Cover Image
By Zen Cho
$17.00
ISBN: 9780425283431
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ace - May 11th, 2021

A recent Harvard graduate, Jess didn’t expect to spend her time moving back to Malaysia with her parents. Jobless and hiding a girlfriend from her family, Jess learns quickly that she has yet another secret to hide: Her grandmother, Ah Ma, is speaking to her. Haunting her, actually. And wanting her to serve a god that’s been wronged by one of the many developers in up-and-coming Penang. From beyond the grave, Ah Ma plunges Jess into an underworld of gods and conspiracies, gangsters and overpriced coffee. Black Water Sister is beautiful, resonant, and somehow relatable, despite most people probably not getting haunted by their dead gangster of a grandmother. --Jordan


The Final Girl Support Group Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593201237
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - July 13th, 2021

Dive into the B-list world of slasher films and laugh, wince, and cheer on Lynette as she careens around the West Coast trying to out-wit her murderous stalkers. --Maggie


Rabbits: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781984819659
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - June 8th, 2021

Hard to shake once you descend into this world, I found myself thinking about this book a lot while not reading it... characters are real and the premise is creepy enough to be believable... a really solid technothriller that crosses over into horror at times. --Jamie


Project Hail Mary: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780593135204
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - May 4th, 2021

You might think a 20-something bookseller who has lived in North Carolina the majority of her life might have a hard time relating to Ryland Grace, the lone astronaut on an interstellar space mission, and the one hope for humanity's survival. You'd be wrong. A thrilling survival story from start to finish, the real heart of Project Hail Mary lies in its compelling narrative between Ryland and an unlikely ally. Project Hail Mary reminds readers that in any situation we find ourselves in, empathy, human connection, and friendship are vital to our survival. --Genni


Nightfall and Other Stories Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593357460
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - July 13th, 2021

If you have ever questioned why Asimov is considered one of science fiction’s greatest writers, look no further than these pages for the answer. Beginning with one of my all-time favorite sci-fi stories, the titular "Nightfall," and moving through Asimov’s vast and shockingly diverse catalog, this collection has it all: from fears of the atomic age to dreams of a galactic human empire; from robots to psychic space parasites; from satire and comedy to hard sci-fi and space opera. Nightfall and Other Stories reminds readers that Asimov was not only a master of his genre but also an incredibly talented and versatile storyteller. --Zach


Machine: A White Space Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534403024
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - July 6th, 2021

Take a break from dystopia with this brilliant, complex thriller. Set on a far-future intergalactic hospital where doctors and nurses of all sentient species work together to promote the collective health of all the universe's people, Machine offers a hopeful outlook for humanity. Main character Dr. Brookllyn Jens, a space EMT, believes wholeheartedly in the hospital's mission, so when mysterious AI glitches and bizarre cryochambers start piling up, her worldview is thrown a bit out of orbit. A delicious mix of hard sci-fi, medical drama, and thoughtful meditations on selflessness & purpose. --Talia


Nothing But Blackened Teeth Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250759412
Availability: Backordered
Published: Tor Nightfire - October 19th, 2021

Adeliciously twisted, fun-as-hell horror novella. Beautifully written and filled with vicious poetry, Nothing But Blackened Teeth will devour its readers whole, laughing as they are consumed. --Zach