Flyleaf's Favorite Romance of 2021

Brought to you by former (and beloved) Flyleafer Genni Eccles.
Back to the 2021 Holiday Gift Guide

Act Your Age, Eve Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters #3) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062941275
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Avon - March 9th, 2021

My god. I had such a fantastic time reading Act Your Age, Eve Brown. After such a tumultuous year, Talia Hibbert's romance novel is such a wonderful reprieve. The romance between the ever-charming Eve and her grumpy -- yet irresistibly attractive boss -- Jacob, sucked me in. For a blessed day my only worry was whether this perfect pair would have their happily ever after or not. Mix in tender and important conversations about fatphobia and ableism, and I was reduced to an absolute pile of awe at Hibbert's talent. Romance at its best. --Genni


The View Was Exhausting Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781538734902
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - July 6th, 2021

Perhaps my favorite book of the year! Perfect for fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid, Kevin Kwan, and Emily Henry. This book has all my favorite tropes - fake dating, Hollywood romance, around-the-world travel. Plus, The View Was Exhausting has snappy and wise commentary on race, gender, and class. Timely, swoon-worthy, and excellently written. --Genni


The Love Con Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593199053
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Preorder Now
Published: Berkley - December 14th, 2021

From friends-to-lovers, mutual pining, and fake dating, The Love Con has all the makings of a superb romance. Kenya and Cam's sizzling chemistry and wonderful communication elevate this romance novel to the next level. Along with Seressia Glass' spot-on humor and wit, The Love Con is a near-perfect romance novel.


Donut Fall in Love Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593334300
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - October 26th, 2021

Donut in Love is a donut personified - sweet and bright on the outside, with hidden depth and warmth inside. Small-town Lindsay and movie-star Ryan bond over grief, baking, and their experiences of being Asian in America despite their class differences, resulting in both fun antics and important conversations. Indulge in this delectable romance novel! -Genni


One Last Stop Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250244499
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - June 1st, 2021

Casey McQuiston has done it again! One Last Stop has it all: queer romance, found family, pancake shenanigans, and a spell-binding setting (literally). With a heap of magical realism, Jane and August's romance is whimsical, captivating, and oh-so-earnest. I laughed, I cried, I yearned. One Last Stop is the perfect pick-me-up. --Genni


All the Feels: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063005587
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Avon - November 16th, 2021

After reading and loving Olivia Dade's Spoiler Alert, I was worried All the Feels would disappoint. Fret not - it rises to the occassion, and then some. This slow-burn romance is just absolutely darling and downright sexy, featuring the best banter I've ever read. This book will make you laugh out loud - 100% guaranteed. It also serves as a wonderful reminder that everyone deserves a happy ending. --Genni


Love Scenes Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593201152
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 22nd, 2021

Witty banter. Slow burn romance. Spot-on humor. What more can you want from a romance novel? If you're thinking Hollywood, an amazing group of supporting characters, and charisma that flies off the page, Love Scenes has that, too. Sloan and Joe are thrown into filming a movie together, despite their tense working relationship. What seems like is the opposite, as Sloan and Joe push each other to be better actors and better people. With rich leads and a compulsive Hollywood romance, Love Scenes is a charming romantic comedy perfect for the romance aficionados and newbies. --Genni


People We Meet on Vacation Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984806758
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - May 11th, 2021

In a day and age where we can't travel on a whim, People We Meet on Vacation is a perfect escape. This slow burn romance between Poppy and Alex is the perfect blend of humor and emotion. Now estranged best friends, Poppy and Alex take one last summer vacation together, seeing if they can reignite their deep friendship. Of course, their true feelings come to a head. The frequent flashbacks, in which readers see all the couple's almost happily ever afters, are sublime. My heart hurt reading this one, in the best way possible. Much like Emily Henry's Beach Read, People We Meet on Vacation is a quintessential summer read. --Genni


Second First Impressions: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062912855
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - April 13th, 2021

Are you on the lookout for a book that feels like a warm hug? The perfect cozy read to snuggle up with? If so, then Second First Impressions is the book for you! A heartfelt romance with lots of pining, sincere friendships, two sassy elderly women who shine on-page, and cute turtles...need I say more? --Genni


The Ex Talk Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593200124
Availability: Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - January 26th, 2021

The Ex Talk is the perfect romance novel. It's got all the favorite tropes - fake dating, only one bed, rivals to lovers - and rich characterization. This slow-burn romance between Shay and Dominic, who work at the same public radio station, will have you fanning yourself by the third act. The sizzling chemistry and fun antics (the two pretend to be exes to start a new podcast, saving their jobs in the process) are balanced by wonderful discussions on grief, discrimination in the workplace, and feeling stuck in your 20s. --Genni


If the Shoe Fits: A Meant to Be Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781368053372
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hyperion Avenue - August 3rd, 2021

Looking for an empowering and diverse spin on the classic Cinderella tale? Look no further! If the Shoe Fits is equal parts fun, swoony, and thoughtful. A charismatic love story wit a fat-positive spin. --Genni