Books That Helped Zach Hang onto His Supposed Sanity in 2020

Mexican Gothic Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525620785
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - June 30th, 2020

A great (and unnerving) new twist on the classic haunted house tale, Mexican Gothic is perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House, T. Kingfisher’s The Twisted Ones, and Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s The Yellow Wallpaper.


Survivor Song: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062679161
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - July 7th, 2020

Perhaps the perfect horror novel for 2020, Survivor Song is as heartbreaking as it is disturbing. Paul Tremblay has crafted a relentlessly claustrophobic thriller, whose every page bleeds dread and adrenaline-pumping unease. I cannot recommend it highly enough.


The More Extravagant Feast: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450185
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - April 7th, 2020

Within these pages Leah Naomi Green has cultivated a stunning landscape of ecologically infused poetry. Tender, spiritual, and breathtakingly human, this collection explores motherhood and our connection to the natural world, daring to be compassionate in a time of uncertainty and fear.


Cinderbiter: Celtic Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450277
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - July 7th, 2020

A remarkably unique book, Cinderbiter veers between poetry and folklore, between the old and the new. From emotive lyric poems to heroic epics, from its titular hero to Merlin himself, Cinderbiter is a rediscovery and reinvigoration of classic literature.


Nuking the Moon: And Other Intelligence Schemes and Military Plots Left on the Drawing Board Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143133407
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 5th, 2020

How insane are some of the schemes described in this book? Think of your worst/weirdest idea (the one your friends still tease you about), increase it by (at least) three orders of magnitude, and then give it government funding. Now you’re starting to get the picture.


Guillotine: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450307
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - August 4th, 2020

Overflowing with imagery few poets can match—and captivating in its mastery of language— Guillotine is a heartbreaking, yet uplifting, exploration of migrant experiences, desire, and sexuality. Corral has once again proven that he is one of the most talented lyric poets currently writing.


The Invincible Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780262538473
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: MIT Press - February 18th, 2020

The novel that first ignited my love for science fiction is back, reprinted and just as enthralling as the first time I read it. The Invicible hurls the theory of evolution into the darkest corners of the universe, questioning our very understanding of life, and leaving readers desperate to turn the page.


The City We Became: A Novel (The Great Cities Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316509848
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - March 24th, 2020

Delightfully insane and unlike anything I’ve read before, The City We Became is a love letter to NYC wrapped in multicultural re-imaginings of cosmic horror… served with a huge dose of kickass fantasy fun.


The Gilded Auction Block: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374538712
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - February 18th, 2020

A brilliant and startlingly ferocious collection. Read them now or in twenty years, these poems will have lost none of their song or bite.


Devolution: A Firsthand Account of the Rainier Sasquatch Massacre Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781984826787
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Del Rey - June 16th, 2020

Don’t believe in Bigfoot? Devolution doesn’t care. This masterfully constructed novel will leave even the most skeptical reader (like yours truly) reeling and shocked.