What to Read Now - Kids Middle Grade Books

New and notable middle grade books (for readers roughly ages 8-12). Last updated Sept. 21.

The Last Kids on Earth and the Skeleton Road Cover Image
By Max Brallier, Douglas Holgate (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984835345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

Book #6 in the ever-hilarious Last Kids on Earth series.


The Land of the Cranes Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338343809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

Skunk and Badger (Skunk and Badger 1) Cover Image
By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781643750057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

Three Keys (A Front Desk Novel) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338591385
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

The sequel to the brilliant Front Desk.


Before the Ever After Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399545436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

Millionaires for the Month Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593175255
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Hide and Seeker Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338583625
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

Legitimately spooky and filled some of my new favorite characters, this is one of the best middle-grade horror novels I have ever read. Hermon balances her scares with some great moments of humor, so the novel never feels too dark, even as it maintains a constant atmosphere of creepiness. Hide and Seeker is also a wonderfully powerful story of kids coming to terms with loss and anxiety, conquering their fears, and finding strength, support, and resilience in friendship. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline and Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces. --Zach


The Vanderbeekers Lost and Found Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358256199
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

Book #4 in the Vanderbeekers series!


The Silver Arrow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316539531
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Pages & Co.: The Map of Stories Cover Image
By Anna James, Paola Escobar (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984837325
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - September 22nd, 2020

Book #3 in the Pages & Co. series.


Lupe Wong Won't Dance Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646140039
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - September 8th, 2020

One Time Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062570741
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 8th, 2020

The Canyon's Edge Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316494694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 8th, 2020

The Shadow Crosser (A Storm Runner Novel, Book 3) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368052771
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - September 1st, 2020

Book #3 in the Storm Runners series.


Letters from Cuba Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525516477
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 25th, 2020

The Magic in Changing Your Stars Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781454934066
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sterling Children's Books - August 4th, 2020

Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781419749094
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - August 4th, 2020

Thirteens Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593117026
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 18th, 2020

Pine Island Home Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780823447855
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret Ferguson Books - September 1st, 2020

The Wild Path Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316422475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Grasping Mysteries: Girls Who Loved Math Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534460683
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

A Place at the Table Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358116684
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - August 11th, 2020

Fighting Words Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984815682
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - August 11th, 2020

A candid and fierce middle grade novel about sisterhood and sexual abuse, by Newbery Honor winner Kimberly Brubaker Bradley. "Della's tough, straightforward narration pulls no punches as she learns the power of using her 'big mouth' and inspires others to tell their stories when and how they are able. Sharp characterizations by Newbery Honoree Brubaker Bradley create an essential, powerful mirror and window for any reader." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)


Ikenga Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593113523
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 18th, 2020

Award-winning Nnedi Okorafor, acclaimed for her Akata novels, introduces a new and engaging hero in her first novel for middle grade readers set against a richly textured background of contemporary Nigeria.


The Girl and the Ghost Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062940957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - August 4th, 2020

A re-telling of a Malaysian folktale.


Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593121368
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - August 18th, 2020

Whispering Pines Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534460478
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 1st, 2020

The Artifact Hunters Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780451478696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 25th, 2020

Midnight at the Barclay Hotel Cover Image
By Fleur Bradley, Xavier Bonet (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593202906
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 25th, 2020

Spindlefish and Stars Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316496018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 22nd, 2020

The Dare Sisters Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250213389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Imprint - September 8th, 2020

Fly on the Wall Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250314116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - September 15th, 2020