What to Read Now - Kids Middle Grade Books

New and notable middle grade books (for readers roughly ages 8-12). Last updated November 24.

Unlocked Book 8.5 (Keeper of the Lost Cities) Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781534463424
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin - November 17th, 2020

The Wizards of Once: Never and Forever Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316702973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 17th, 2020

Spy School Revolution Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534443785
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 6th, 2020

Book #8 in the Spy School series is here!


Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor #3) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316508957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 27th, 2020

The Deep End (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Book 15) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781419748684
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - October 27th, 2020

Oh yeah! A new Wimpy Kid!


Tristan Strong Destroys the World (A Tristan Strong Novel, Book 2) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368042383
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - October 6th, 2020

Signed copies available! The much-anticipated follow-up to Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky by Raleigh author Kwame Mbalia.


Becoming Muhammad Ali Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316498166
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: jimmy patterson - October 5th, 2020

Two heavy-hitting authors combine forces for this novel-in-verse.


The Tower of Nero (Trials of Apollo, The Book Five) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781484746455
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 6th, 2020

The Last Mirror on the Left (A Legendary Alston Boys Adventure) Cover Image
By Lamar Giles, Dapo Adeola (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358129417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Versify - October 20th, 2020

The sequel to the excellent Last Last-Day-of-Summer.


Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor #3) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316508957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 27th, 2020

Book #3 in the Nevermoor series. Perfect for anyone looking for an laternative to Harry Potter.


The Boys in the Back Row Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646140114
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - October 6th, 2020

The Popper Penguin Rescue Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316495424
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 13th, 2020

A Thousand Questions Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062943200
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 6th, 2020

The Fowl Twins Deny All Charges (A Fowl Twins Novel, Book 2) (Artemis Fowl) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368045049
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 20th, 2020

The Land of the Cranes Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338343809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

Three Keys (A Front Desk Novel) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338591385
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

The sequel to the brilliant Front Desk.


Before the Ever After Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399545436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

The Silver Arrow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316539531
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

A younger middle grade book - my 8-year-old and I enjoyed this as a read-aloud (and my 12-year-old spotted it and read it in a sitting). For fans who have grown out of Magic Tree House but enjoy time/space traveling adventures. --Elese


Just Beyond the Very, Very Far North Cover Image
By Dan Bar-el, Kelly Pousette (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534433441
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - October 6th, 2020

The sequel to The Very, Very Far North - perfect for younger middle grade readers.


Millionaires for the Month Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593175255
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Hide and Seeker Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338583625
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

Legitimately spooky and filled some of my new favorite characters, this is one of the best middle-grade horror novels I have ever read. Hermon balances her scares with some great moments of humor, so the novel never feels too dark, even as it maintains a constant atmosphere of creepiness. Hide and Seeker is also a wonderfully powerful story of kids coming to terms with loss and anxiety, conquering their fears, and finding strength, support, and resilience in friendship. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline and Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces. --Zach


The Last Kids on Earth and the Skeleton Road Cover Image
By Max Brallier, Douglas Holgate (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984835345
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

Book #6 in the ever-hilarious Last Kids on Earth series.


Pages & Co.: The Map of Stories Cover Image
By Anna James, Paola Escobar (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984837325
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - September 22nd, 2020

Book #3 in the Pages & Co. series.


Lupe Wong Won't Dance Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646140039
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - September 8th, 2020

Saucy Cover Image
By Cynthia Kadohata, Marianna Raskin (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781442412781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - September 29th, 2020

One Time Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062570741
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 8th, 2020

Skunk and Badger (Skunk and Badger 1) Cover Image
By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781643750057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

The Canyon's Edge Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316494694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 8th, 2020

The Shadow Crosser (A Storm Runner Novel, Book 3) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368052771
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - September 1st, 2020

Book #3 in the Storm Runners series.


Letters from Cuba Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525516477
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 25th, 2020

Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593121368
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - August 18th, 2020

Fly on the Wall Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250314116
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - September 15th, 2020