What to Read Now - Kids Graphic Novels

Inspiration for the graphic novel-obsessed. Most of these are for kids ages 8-12, with a few specifically for the earlier elementary grades. Last updated Sept 21.

Witches of Brooklyn Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593119273
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - September 1st, 2020

An adorable graphic novel about magic and friendship set in modern-day Brooklyn, A hit with both of my boys (12 and 8) and this adult. --Elese


Séance Tea Party Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894151
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - September 15th, 2020

Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525552864
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - July 14th, 2020

Two 10-year-olds search for a missing gecko and find friendship along the way.


Dog Man: Grime and Punishment: From the Creator of Captain Underpants (Dog Man #9) Cover Image
By Dav Pilkey, Dav Pilkey (Illustrator), Dav Pilkey (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338535624
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - September 1st, 2020

It's a new Dog Man book!


Happy Narwhalidays (A Narwhal and Jelly Book #5) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780735262515
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tundra Books - September 8th, 2020

Virtual Unicorn Experience: Another Phoebe and Her Unicorn Adventure Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781524860707
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - September 1st, 2020

Logan Likes Mary Anne! (The Baby-Sitters Club Graphic Novel #8) (The Baby-Sitters Club Graphic Novels #8) Cover Image
By Ann M. Martin, Gale Galligan (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338304541
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - September 1st, 2020

All Together Now (Eagle Rock Series #2) Cover Image
By Hope Larson, Hope Larson (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780374313654
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - August 4th, 2020

Bina's story lives on! (Check out book #1, although both can be read as a stand-lone: All Together Now) She's in middle school, she has a new best friend, she's writing songs, she's in a band -- what could go wrong? Well, of course, so very many things. Follow Bina as she tries to figure out her heart and find her voice. Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale, check out Hope Larson's graphic novels. You'll love 'em! --Elese


Agent Moose Cover Image
By Mo O'Hara, Jess Bradley (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250222213
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - August 4th, 2020

Aimed at the younger set -- ages 6-9. In the same spirit as Tom Angleberger's delightful Inspector Flytrap and Didi Dodo, Future Spy series.


CatStronauts: Digital Disaster Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316451277
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

The intergalactic travails of an elite group of cat astronauts! And now the 6th book in the series. (See the others in the series here.)


Beetle & the Hollowbones Cover Image
By Aliza Layne, Aliza Layne (Illustrator), Kristen Acampora (Colorist), Natalie Riess (Colorist)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534441545
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

Queen of the Nile (Cleopatra in Space #6) Cover Image
By Mike Maihack, Mike Maihack (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338204155
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - August 4th, 2020

A new Cleopatra in Space graphic novel!


Kerry and the Knight of the Forest Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984893291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - July 7th, 2020

Doodleville Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 9th, 2020

From the creator of the brilliant Cardboard Kingdom. (After reading Cardboard Kingdom, I found my boys in the garage constructing elaborate costumes out of old boxes. Love.) --Elese


Donut the Destroyer Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338541922
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - June 2nd, 2020

When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

A new graphic novel co-authored by Roller Girl creator Victoria Jamieson.


InvestiGators Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250219954
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 25th, 2020

Fans of Dog Man, meet the InvestiGators!


Baloney and Friends (Baloney & Friends #1) Cover Image
By Greg Pizzoli, Greg Pizzoli (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368054546
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2020

A younger graphic novel, great for ages 5-8. Perfect for fans of Narwhal & Jelly.


Snapdragon Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250171115
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 4th, 2020

"This sensitive, slightly spooky tale will spur middle graders to mull the importance of fostering welcoming communities." --School Library Journal


Becoming Brianna (Emmie & Friends) Cover Image
By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062894533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 5th, 2020

The latest in the Emmie & Friends series. If you'd like to start from the beginning here, see Invisible Emmie.


Stepping Stones (Peapod Farm #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984896841
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Graphic - May 5th, 2020

A coming-of-age graphic novel about blended families and farmer markets from the talented Lucy Knisley.


Green Lantern: Legacy Cover Image
By Minh Le, Andie Tong (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781401283551
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - January 21st, 2020

"Lê and Tong reimagine the Green Lantern as a 13-year-old Vietnamese American boy. ... Sci-fi and adventure are flashy vehicles for a tale about power and compassion--and the importance of service to others." --School Library Journal


Bug Boys Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984896766
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - February 11th, 2020

"Kids are going to love these characters, which is good, as more stories are already in the works. An absolutely delightful gateway into comics for the Saturday-morning cartoon crowd." --Booklist (ages 7-10)


Diana: Princess of the Amazons Cover Image
By Shannon Hale, Dean Hale, Victoria Ying (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781401291112
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - January 7th, 2020

The story of a young Wonder Woman, by the author of Real Friends and Best Friends.


Gamayun Tales I: An anthology of modern Russian folk tales (Volume I) (The Gamayun Tales #1) Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781910620670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nobrow - March 10th, 2020

A collection of modern Russian folklore in graphic novel format.


Astronauts: Women on the Final Frontier Cover Image
By Jim Ottaviani, Maris Wicks (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250760036
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 4th, 2020