Flyleaf's Favorite Nonfiction 2020

Untamed Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781984801258
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: The Dial Press - March 10th, 2020

With anecdotes about her journey to self-love and actualization, Glennon Doyle's voice shimmers across the pages with honesty, humility, and love, urging readers to commit to introspection in order to achieve their truest, most beautiful lives. I recommend read #1 for pleasure, and read #2 with a pen to mark favorite passages. A must-read for fans of Elizabeth Gilbert and Brene Brown!  --Talia


Caste (Oprah's Book Club): The Origins of Our Discontents Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780593230251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - August 4th, 2020

Isabel Wilkerson does it again. As with The Warmth of Other Suns she explains the nuances of skin color and society. An amazing look at world and US history in regards to the social constructs around skin color and the treatment of people of color. This book is timely as it even touches on the Trump presidency. --Jamie


Having and Being Had Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525537458
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - September 1st, 2020

An intriguing blend of autobiography and criticism written in a short essay format, Eula Biss' new work discusses work, leisure, and the problems of consumerism and capitalism in general. Thought-provoking, witty, and aware of the author's own privilege, this short nonfiction work is not to be missed! --Jen


The End of Everything: (Astrophysically Speaking) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982103545
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - August 4th, 2020

The most fun you’ll ever have with the end of the universe! The kind of book that throws your brain into overdrive, that makes you wish you had taken more science courses as an undergrad (well, almost), and that leads you to babble at your coworkers about vacuum decay. Perfect for fans of hard sci-fi, or anyone in need of a laugh-out-loud, engrossing read about the wonderfully bizarre universe we call home. --Zach


Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781631493942
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright - January 7th, 2020

The story of how fast food restaurants - specifically McDonald's - took on such an important and complicated role in Black communities during the 20th century. A fascinating and often heartbreaking history of racial injustice and economic realities as told through the experiences of Black business owners, civil rights organizers, and communities left without healthy inexpensive food options. It may sound niche, but this story is told so well and so fluidly that anyone can hop in and learn a little more about the world around them. --Colin


The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780385348713
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown - February 25th, 2020

Another great Larson book that follows Winston Churchill and his family and colleagues as they navigate the early days of World War 2. Larson gives great insight into not just Churchill's state of mind and daily activities but also those of German generals and US politicians. A fascinating and informative read. --Jamie


The Lady's Handbook for Her Mysterious Illness: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780385534079
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - March 17th, 2020

A memoir of illness, and specifically the genre of debilitating illness that disproportionately affects women and baffles the mainstream medical establishment. I recognized myself in these pages and maybe you will, too. And hey, in a call with booksellers earlier this year Ann Patchett proclaimed this memoir to be her pick for one of the most overlooked books of 2020, so don't just take it from me. --Elese


Scandinavian Noir: In Pursuit of a Mystery Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374216979
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - May 5th, 2020

The ultimate love letter to Scandinavian crime fiction and those readers who can't get enough of it, Lesser discusses what she's learned from reading this genre and then explores what she learned by actually traveling to Scandinavia and interviewing police and detectives. The work concludes with a fabulous appendix of must-read Scandinavian Noir titles. --Jen


Diamond Doris: The True Story of the World's Most Notorious Jewel Thief Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062918000
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amistad - October 6th, 2020

Doris was a badass and she knew it. You're a fly on the wall as she cases and steals from the most luxurious jewelry retailers in the world using social cues and expectations to her advantage. Part Pam Grier part 007 she led an unbelievably brazen life of crime, and writes about it very well. A real page turner. And a great audiobook as well! --Jamie


The Dragons, the Giant, the Women: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781644450314
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - June 2nd, 2020

In this memoir, Wayétu Moore, author of the oh-so-good novel She Would be King, recounts the journey that led her from Liberia to the US and back again. An incredibly moving testament to the power of family, love and storytelling. --Elese