Flyleaf's Favorite Graphic Novels for Kids & Teens

Back to the 2020 Holiday Gift Guide

The first part of our list includes recommendations for middle grade readers (roughly ages 8-12). Dragon Hoops is best for 10-16. After that our recommendations are for young adult readers (ages 12/13+).

Lightfall: The Girl & the Galdurian Cover Image
By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062990464
Availability: Backordered
Published: HarperAlley - September 1st, 2020

Lightfall is a brilliant series debut: a charming tale of adventure, friendship, and self-discovery, elevated to another plane entirely by Tim Probert's stunning artwork. --Talia


When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

A heart-wrenching true story about growing up in a refugee camp, this is an incredibly important and eye-opening tale, especially in the midst of our current political climate. --Jen


InvestiGators Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250219954
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 25th, 2020

A famous chef has gone missing! Don't worry though, because our two best alligator detectives Mango and Brash are on the case. Will they uncover the wild schemes that are afoot before it's too late? I don't know! Stop asking me and read the book! --Colin. (Check out InvestiGators #2: Take the Plunge also out this year!)


Stepping Stones (Peapod Farm #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984896841
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - May 5th, 2020

A coming-of-age graphic novel about blended families and farmer markets from the talented Lucy Knisley. --Elese


Twins: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
By Varian Johnson, Shannon Wright (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338236132
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - October 6th, 2020

Séance Tea Party Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894151
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - September 15th, 2020

All Together Now (Eagle Rock Series #2) Cover Image
By Hope Larson, Hope Larson (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780374313654
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - August 4th, 2020

Bina's story lives on! (Check out book #1 All Summer Long) She's in middle school, she has a new best friend, she's writing songs, she's in a band -- what could go wrong? Well, of course, so very many things. Follow Bina as she tries to figure out her heart and find her voice. Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale, check out Hope Larson's graphic novels. You'll love 'em! --Elese


Snapdragon Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250171115
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 4th, 2020

A quirky book about a young girl who discovers her magical powers, a budding interest in taxidermy and revelations about her family's past. Unusual, fun and charming. --Elese


Witches of Brooklyn Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593119273
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - September 1st, 2020

SOLD OUT UNTIL JANUARY. An adorable graphic novel about magic and friendship set in modern-day Brooklyn. A hit with both of my boys (12 and 8) and this adult. --Elese


Gamayun Tales I: An anthology of modern Russian folk tales (Volume I) (The Gamayun Tales #1) Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781910620670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nobrow - March 10th, 2020

A great choice for a 5th-8th grader.


Dragon Hoops Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781626720794
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - March 17th, 2020

There's a lot of basketball in this book -- a great graphic novel read for middle schoolers on up that chronicles the real life high school season of a Bay Area basketball powerhouse.


Teen Titans: Beast Boy Cover Image
By Kami Garcia, Gabriel Picolo (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781401287191
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - September 1st, 2020

Gar wants to be liked. He wants to be taller and stronger and impressive and respected. So when he finds out that one of the side effects of the supplements he's taken his whole life is stunting growth, he stops taking them. Now he's taller, stronger and getting everything he wants. At least at first. Don't miss this fun modern twist on Beast Boy's origins, or any in this series for that matter. --Lucia


The Phantom Twin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626729247
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - March 3rd, 2020

This creepy and unsettling graphic novel is a fascinating ghost story, but also a heartfelt romance and a tale of sisters struggling with grief. Utterly original and beautiful! --Jen


The Magic Fish Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984851598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - October 13th, 2020

Check, Please! Book 2: Sticks & Scones Cover Image
By Ngozi Ukazu, Ngozi Ukazu (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250179500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - April 7th, 2020

Ngozi Ukazu's follow up to her first volume, Check, Please!: #Hockey, is sure to delight. Readers forewarned: you will salivate over pies, be completed enthralled by the narrative's hockey games, and might even shed a tear or two over the heartfelt romance. --Genni