20 New Kids Graphic Novels from 2020

Inspiration for the graphic novel-obsessed. Most of these are for kids ages 8-12, with a few specifically for the earlier elementary grades.

Doodleville Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894717
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 9th, 2020

From the creator of the brilliant Cardboard Kingdom. (After reading Cardboard Kingdom, I found my boys in the garage constructing elaborate costumes out of old boxes. Love.) --Elese


Donut the Destroyer Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338541922
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - June 2nd, 2020

When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

A new graphic novel co-authored by Roller Girl creator Victoria Jamieson.


InvestiGators Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250219954
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 25th, 2020

Fans of Dog Man, meet the InvestiGators!


Baloney and Friends (Baloney & Friends #1) Cover Image
By Greg Pizzoli, Greg Pizzoli (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368054546
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2020

A younger graphic novel, great for ages 5-8. Perfect for fans of Narwhal & Jelly.


My Video Game Ate My Homework Cover Image
By Dustin Hansen, Dustin Hansen (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781401293260
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - April 1st, 2020

Virtual reality video games & middle school? What's not to love?


Snapdragon Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250171115
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: First Second - February 4th, 2020

"This sensitive, slightly spooky tale will spur middle graders to mull the importance of fostering welcoming communities." --School Library Journal


Becoming Brianna (Emmie & Friends) Cover Image
By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062894533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 5th, 2020

The latest in the Emmie & Friends series. If you'd like to start from the beginning here, see Invisible Emmie.


The Mystery of the Moon Tower (The Pathfinders Society) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780425291870
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2020

Book #1 in a new mystery/adventure graphic novel series.


Stepping Stones (Peapod Farm #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984896841
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - May 5th, 2020

A coming-of-age graphic novel about blended families and farmer markets from the talented Lucy Knisley.


Green Lantern: Legacy Cover Image
By Minh Le, Andie Tong (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781401283551
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - January 21st, 2020

"Lê and Tong reimagine the Green Lantern as a 13-year-old Vietnamese American boy. ... Sci-fi and adventure are flashy vehicles for a tale about power and compassion--and the importance of service to others." --School Library Journal


The Deep & Dark Blue Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316486019
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

"Children figuring out where they fit in will appreciate this stunning work that does double duty as an absorbing adventure and a gentle musing on gender identity, family, and acceptance." --School Library Journal


Bug Boys Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984896766
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - February 11th, 2020

"Kids are going to love these characters, which is good, as more stories are already in the works. An absolutely delightful gateway into comics for the Saturday-morning cartoon crowd." --Booklist (ages 7-10)


The Weirn Books, Vol. 1: Be Wary of the Silent Woods Cover Image
$13.00
ISBN: 9781975311223
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: JY - June 16th, 2020

Aster and the Accidental Magic Cover Image
By Thom Pico, Karensac (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593118849
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - March 3rd, 2020

Endorsed by my avid-graphic novel reading 8-year-old --Elese
"Spirited adventure and an oddball sense of humor make this a promising start to a series that will be perfect for fans of the Hilda comics. Ages 8-12." --Publishers Weekly


Camping with Unicorns (Phoebe and Her Unicorn Series Book 11): Another Phoebe and Her Unicorn Adventure Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781524855581
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - April 7th, 2020

Book #11 in the hilarious and fabulous Phoebe and her Unicorn series.


Diana: Princess of the Amazons Cover Image
By Shannon Hale, Dean Hale, Victoria Ying (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781401291112
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - January 7th, 2020

The story of a young Wonder Woman, by the author of Real Friends and Best Friends.


The Boy Who Became a Dragon: A Bruce Lee Story Cover Image
By Jim Di Bartolo, Jim Di Bartolo (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338134117
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - February 4th, 2020

A graphic novel biography of martial arts legend Bruce Lee.


Gamayun Tales I: An anthology of modern Russian folk tales (Volume I) (The Gamayun Tales #1) Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781910620670
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Nobrow - March 10th, 2020

A collection of modern Russian folklore in graphic novel format.


Astronauts: Women on the Final Frontier Cover Image
By Jim Ottaviani, Maris Wicks (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250760036
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 4th, 2020

A STEAM-focused biography of the first women in space.