20 New Kids Graphic Novels from 2020

Inspiration for the graphic novel-obsessed. Most of these are for kids ages 8-12, with a few specifically for the earlier elementary grades. Last updated August 4.

All Together Now (Eagle Rock Series #2) Cover Image
By Hope Larson, Hope Larson (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780374313654
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - August 4th, 2020

Bina's story lives on! (Check out book #1, although both can be read as a stand-lone: All Together Now) She's in middle school, she has a new best friend, she's writing songs, she's in a band -- what could go wrong? Well, of course, so very many things. Follow Bina as she tries to figure out her heart and find her voice. Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale, check out Hope Larson's graphic novels. You'll love 'em! --Elese


Agent Moose Cover Image
By Mo O'Hara, Jess Bradley (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250222213
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - August 4th, 2020

Aimed at the younger set -- ages 6-9. In the same spirit as Tom Angleberger's delightful Inspector Flytrap and Didi Dodo, Future Spy series.


Shirley and Jamila Save Their Summer Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525552864
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - July 14th, 2020

Two 10-year-olds search for a missing gecko and find friendship along the way.


CatStronauts: Digital Disaster Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316451277
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

The intergalactic travails of an elite group of cat astronauts! And now the 6th book in the series. (See the others in the series here.)


Queen of the Nile (Cleopatra in Space #6) Cover Image
By Mike Maihack, Mike Maihack (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338204155
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - August 4th, 2020

A new Cleopatra in Space graphic novel!


Kerry and the Knight of the Forest Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984893291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - July 7th, 2020

Doodleville Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894717
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 9th, 2020

From the creator of the brilliant Cardboard Kingdom. (After reading Cardboard Kingdom, I found my boys in the garage constructing elaborate costumes out of old boxes. Love.) --Elese


Donut the Destroyer Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338541922
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - June 2nd, 2020

When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

A new graphic novel co-authored by Roller Girl creator Victoria Jamieson.


InvestiGators Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250219954
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 25th, 2020

Fans of Dog Man, meet the InvestiGators!


Baloney and Friends (Baloney & Friends #1) Cover Image
By Greg Pizzoli, Greg Pizzoli (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368054546
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2020

A younger graphic novel, great for ages 5-8. Perfect for fans of Narwhal & Jelly.


Snapdragon Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250171115
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 4th, 2020

"This sensitive, slightly spooky tale will spur middle graders to mull the importance of fostering welcoming communities." --School Library Journal


Becoming Brianna (Emmie & Friends) Cover Image
By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062894533
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 5th, 2020

The latest in the Emmie & Friends series. If you'd like to start from the beginning here, see Invisible Emmie.


Pacey Packer: Unicorn Tracker Book 1 (Pacey Packer, Unicorn Tracker #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984850546
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

Best for ages 7-10.


One Year at Ellsmere Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250219107
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - July 14th, 2020

Stepping Stones (Peapod Farm #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984896841
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - May 5th, 2020

A coming-of-age graphic novel about blended families and farmer markets from the talented Lucy Knisley.


Green Lantern: Legacy Cover Image
By Minh Le, Andie Tong (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781401283551
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - January 21st, 2020

"Lê and Tong reimagine the Green Lantern as a 13-year-old Vietnamese American boy. ... Sci-fi and adventure are flashy vehicles for a tale about power and compassion--and the importance of service to others." --School Library Journal


Bug Boys Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984896766
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - February 11th, 2020

"Kids are going to love these characters, which is good, as more stories are already in the works. An absolutely delightful gateway into comics for the Saturday-morning cartoon crowd." --Booklist (ages 7-10)


Aster and the Accidental Magic Cover Image
By Thom Pico, Karensac (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593118849
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - March 3rd, 2020

Endorsed by my avid-graphic novel reading 8-year-old --Elese
"Spirited adventure and an oddball sense of humor make this a promising start to a series that will be perfect for fans of the Hilda comics. Ages 8-12." --Publishers Weekly


Camping with Unicorns (Phoebe and Her Unicorn Series Book 11): Another Phoebe and Her Unicorn Adventure Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781524855581
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - April 7th, 2020

Book #11 in the hilarious and fabulous Phoebe and her Unicorn series.


Diana: Princess of the Amazons Cover Image
By Shannon Hale, Dean Hale, Victoria Ying (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781401291112
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - January 7th, 2020

The story of a young Wonder Woman, by the author of Real Friends and Best Friends.


Gamayun Tales I: An anthology of modern Russian folk tales (Volume I) (The Gamayun Tales #1) Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781910620670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nobrow - March 10th, 2020

A collection of modern Russian folklore in graphic novel format.