Fiction and Non-Fiction starring Gutsy Girls and Ceiling Breakers

Starring girls, but not JUST for girls!  At their core these are adventure stories, perfect for all genders. 

The Princess in Black Takes a Vacation Cover Image
By Shannon Hale, Dean Hale, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780763665128
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - November 8th, 2016

(ages 5+) In the 4th installment of the full-color illustrated early chapter book series we finally see Princess Magnolia take a break from fighting monsters! These comic inspired books are great for readers starting out on their own or as shared read-alouds; check out the paperback editions of The Princess in Black, The Princess in Black and the Perfect Princess Party, and The Princess in Black and the Hungry Bunny Horde


The Gutsy Girl: Escapades for Your Life of Epic Adventure Cover Image
By Caroline Paul, Wendy MacNaughton (Illustrator)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781632861238
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA - March 1st, 2016

(ages 7+) Advice, anecdotes, and super cool comics and graphics - I love this guide/memoir from Caroline Paul!


The Secret Horses of Briar Hill Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101939758
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - October 11th, 2016

(ages 8+) I wish I’d had The Secret Horses of Briar Hill as a child.  It is just the kind of book I loved when I was young; one with a daring and dreamy heroine, imbued with magic, and still quietly grounded in the gravity of history.

 


The Trouble with Twins Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101932735
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - August 9th, 2016

(ages 8+) The Trouble with Twins has all the mischief, madcap twists, and over-the-top characters of beloved novels by Roald Dahl like Matilda and The BFG.


Staff Pick Logo
Gertie's Leap to Greatness Cover Image
By Kate Beasley, Jillian Tamaki (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374302610
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) - October 4th, 2016

(ages 8+) Kate Beasley packs so much into this lovely story – there is heart, gravity, and humor all wrapped up with Jillian Tamaki’s amazing illustrations. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo!


When the Sea Turned to Silver Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316125925
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 4th, 2016

(ages 8+) Beautiful color illustrations and an enchanting combination of Chinese folklore with uniquely inventive plot make this story perfect for all kinds of readers.  Start with this one or try companion novels Where the Mountain Meets the Moon or Starry River of the Sky.


Rad Women Worldwide: Artists and Athletes, Pirates and Punks, and Other Revolutionaries Who Shaped History Cover Image
By Kate Schatz, Miriam Klein Stahl (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780399578861
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ten Speed Press - September 27th, 2016

(ages 8+) An awesome follow-up to Rad American Women A-Z, with cut-paper illustrations and inventive bios of past and current female influencers!


Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781607749769
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ten Speed Press - July 26th, 2016

(ages 10+) A fun book to flip through with info on women in STEM fields throughout history; plus awesome infographics, an illustrated glossary, and excellent index.


Fight Like a Girl: 50 Feminists Who Changed the World Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781936976966
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Zest Books - March 8th, 2016

(ages 12+) I love the pen & ink spot illustrations and the breakdown of categories for each short biography: Her Legacy, Her Life Story, Her Cool Credentials, & Quotables.


Lumberjanes Beware the Kitten Holy: Vol. 1 Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781608866878
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Boom Box - April 7th, 2015

(ages 10+) You must be open to absurdity, feminism, and FRIENDSHIP TO THE MAX! in order to appreciate Lumberjanes but I think you're up to the task when it comes to this incredible comics series!  Start with Beware the Kitten Holy and then move on to Friendship to the Max, A Terrible Plan, Out of Time, and Band Together.


Raymie Nightingale Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763681173
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - April 12th, 2016

(ages 10+) Even if your childhood experience has nothing to do with pageants or terrible family members you will feel your soul expand when you read this National Book Award Finalist.


The Girl Who Drank the Moon Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781616205676
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - August 9th, 2016

(ages 10+) Kelly Barnhill has a talent for writing about the spooky and fantastical. This is a a unique fairy tale for fans of Cathrynne M. Valente's Fairyland Series.