Odie Lindsey discusses his debut story collection We Come to Our Senses

Tue 7/25, 7pm:
Odie Lindsey discusses his debut story collection We Come to Our Senses

For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South.

Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women affected by combat directly and tangentially, and the peculiar legacies of war. The story “Evie M.” is about a vet turned office clerk whose petty neuroses derail even her suicide; in “We Come to Our Senses,” a hip young couple leaves the city for the sticks, trading film festivals for firearms; in “Colleen” a woman redeploys to her Mississippi hometown, and confronts the superior who abused her at war; and in “11/19/98” a couple obsesses over sitcoms and retail catalogs, extracting joy and deeper meaning. The story “Hers” is about the sexual politics of a combat zone.

 

 

 

Odie Lindsey's stories have appeared in Best American Short Stories, the Iowa Review, Columbia, and the anthology Forty Stories, among others. A veteran, he lives in Nashville.

 

 

 

 

 

Event date: 
Tuesday, July 25, 2017 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
752 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
We Come to Our Senses: Stories Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780393354195
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - July 25th, 2017