Jami Attenberg discusses her new novel All Grown Up

Saturday, 4/15, 2pm:
Jami Attenberg discusses her new novel All Grown Up

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Middlesteins comes a wickedly funny novel about a thirty-nine-year-old single, childfree woman who defies convention as she seeks connection.

Who is Andrea Bern? When her therapist asks the question, Andrea knows the right things to say: she’s a designer, a friend, a daughter, a sister. But it’s what she leaves unsaid—she’s alone, a drinker, a former artist, a shrieker in bed, captain of the sinking ship that is her flesh—that feels the most true. Everyone around her seems to have an entirely different idea of what it means to be an adult: her best friend, Indigo, is getting married; her brother—who miraculously seems unscathed by their shared tumultuous childhood—and sister-in-law are having a hoped-for baby; and her friend Matthew continues to wholly devote himself to making dark paintings at the cost of being flat broke.

 

But when Andrea’s niece finally arrives, born with a heartbreaking ailment, the Bern family is forced to reexamine what really matters. Will this drive them together or tear them apart? Told in gut-wrenchingly honest, mordantly comic vignettes, All Grown Up is a breathtaking display of Jami Attenberg’s power as a storyteller, a whip-smart examination of one woman’s life, lived entirely on her own terms.

Jami Attenberg is the New York Times bestselling author of five novels, including The Middlesteins and Saint Mazie. She has contributed essays about sex, urban life, and food to The New York Times Magazine, The Wall Street Journal, The Guardian, and Lenny Letter, among other publications. She divides her time between Brooklyn and New Orleans.

Event date: 
Saturday, April 15, 2017 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
752 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
All Grown Up Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780544824249
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - March 7th, 2017

Blunt and fascinating, I quickly devoured All Grown Up. Attenberg's Andrea has a stark view of herself and the world, perfectly represented by the brief, vignette-style chapters. This novel is poignant and sensitive, but never loses Attenberg's trademark humor. Fans of Dept. of Speculation and Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing are perfect readers for this book. -- Johanna