Gavriel Savit discusses his debut YA novel, Anna and the Swallow Man

Friday 2/12, 7pm – 8pm
Gavriel Savit discusses his debut YA novel, Anna and the Swallow Man

 

"This book is a unique kind of masterpiece...Subtly crafted with an intelligent structure and beautiful language, this was a compelling and thought-provoking read." —The Guardian

"Artful, original, insightful." —Kirkus Reviews

"An exquisitely haunting narrative written in prose that dances, Gavriel Savit’s debut will take your breath away." —Jewish Book Council

 

A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief.
 

Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She’s alone. And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. The Swallow Man is not Anna’s father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he’s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness. Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit’s stunning debut reveals life’s hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.

Gavriel Savit holds a BFA in musical theater from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, where he grew up. As an actor and singer, Gavriel has performed on three continents, from New York to Brussels to Tokyo. He lives in Brooklyn. This is his first novel.

**This reading and signing will happen directly after our Flyleaf YA Book Club discussion of More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera.  Feel free to join us for the book club meeting starting at 6pm.  Our book club will meet again on March 11th to discuss Anna and the Swallow Man!**

 

Event date: 
Friday, February 12, 2016 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
752 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Chapel Hill, NC 27514
Anna and the Swallow Man Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553513349
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 26th, 2016